Skip to content

I love the monsoon rains…no really I do!

August 26, 2008

I do I do I do, I know I’m sounding like a rendition of an Abba song, BUT, I like it when the monsoons come. Only because from a photographic perspective, the rains set the scene. The colours seem more saturated and moody, and if you are taking pictures of clouds even the clouds put on a show for your camera. Not to mention the usually empty pools around the ruins tend to fill up with water. Great for reflections and those blood loving insects.

Bayan’s Ruins– When I was wandering around Bayan Temple site outside Siem Reap, it was mid morning and you could feel the heat and humidity increasingly build up.There I was amidst it all, scrambling around temples, over door thresholds, under scaffolding, and dodging tourists, trying to look like a female version of 007. You know cool calm and all that. But it all felt like an endurance race. After 4 hours of this and I was sweaty, salty and stuffed.

Mental note: when looking at ruins in the heat of the day, you need to have at least 6 months race training under your belt prior. Seriously…you do. Either that or a pay a porter to carry you. 

taken by Cate

taken by Cate

 It’s all worth it when you take that one shot. Click on the picture to get a better look.

Caffeinated Traveller

Comments are closed.