Skip to content

Where oh where are the monks?

September 3, 2008

If you haven’t thought about travelling around South East Asia you probably won’t know what I am about to talk about. Don’t let that stop you, keep reading.

In almost any picture or painting you see with a Buddhist temple, there standing in silent meditation will be a monk or two, or three, or more. For some reason it seems quite hip with photographers these days, to take artsy photos of contemplating monks standing amongst the ruins. 

Monks typify the Thai, Laotian and Cambodian scenary. Like actors in a play, they set the scene with the tourists at the tourist spots. Wherever you go in this area of the world, you will always find a friendly smiling monk who wants to have a conversation with you.

Always? Not this time around for me. When I went to Cambodia in June, it was not only the off season for tourists, but also for monks. “Where oh where, were these saffron robed shaved-headed young monks”? They were no where to be seen sitting amongst the rambling ruins. Had the authorities put a stop on monks attending these sacred sites? Had the monks moved on?

I was asking myself this question when luck would have it, I caught a glimpse of two young monks. There they were just about to set off in a local tuktuk. Yes it was a glimpse and brief at that. Naturally I just had to get that digital moment, for old times sake…

taken by Cate

taken by Cate

Yes like I said, it was a glimpse. This is the only frame I shot with monks. So if someone out there can tell me where these monks go during the monsoon seasons, I would appreciate it.

Caffeinated Traveller

One Comment
  1. Erin McDermott permalink
    September 3, 2008 9:45 am

    Hmmmm…I left Kota-Bahru just before monsoon season and headed south where I escaped the deluge of water, maybe they do likewise, im not sure if they are very nomadic.

Comments are closed.