Skip to content

Self-realisation hurts

September 11, 2008

Last night I realised somethings. I have 2 major addictions:coffee and travel. Possibly uncontrollable at this point in time. Ouch.

The travel addiction is something I have quietly known about for a long time, but have tried to keep under my belt.  Much like an alcoholic hides their bottles under the bed. Travel for me has always been about the elation and joy felt when immersed in a completely foreign culture. It is difficult to describe because alot of the time you don’t actually get that feeling until you are back at work sitting in front of your computer:depressed. It’s at that stage, and I’m sure some of you can relate to this, you wish you were somewhere else. So like all good addicts, you start planning your next trip. An endless cycle. An addiction.

The coffee addiction is something I have laughed about and shrugged off for a while but last night I realised I had a problem. A problem more to do with quality not quantity. Last night my supply of coffee ran dry. This meant I had two choices; go out and buy more, or leave it until the next day. The repercussions with the latter meant that I had to endure either foul tasting takeouts from a local cafe or worse;instant coffee at work. Can you get my drift?

The thought of doing either was powerful enough to push me out of my apartment into the late evening when I was tired and almost ready for bed. I know I would NEVER do this for anything else: fast food, chocolate, cigarettes (non-smoker here), alcohol nor a man. Yes I am lazy. That was the other thing I realised last night.

Perhaps some of you reading this post will go “YES Cate I’m right there with you!” If not… can anyone recommend a good 12 step programme?

 

I had a photo to insert here but couldn’t import it..next time.

 

Caffeinated Traveller

3 Comments
  1. Bear permalink
    September 12, 2008 1:40 am

    …nor a man ??? 😉

  2. September 12, 2008 5:00 am

    Nor a man – I also realised I am lazy. But the man can come to me 🙂

  3. MonnyQ permalink
    September 12, 2008 7:33 am

    I’m so with you… So what sort of coffee was it that you bought?

Comments are closed.