Skip to content

Feeling overwhelmed – a little

September 23, 2008

I guess this part of the blog is going to be the “diary” part – minus the dear diary entry. My guidebooks and maps arrived today, three weeks earlier than expected. I’m happy to have them. I’m also a little – overwhelmed. With youthful enthusiasm and energy, I opened the box and pulled out the books, quickly skimming the pages of them all (4 books). I was excited to check out the updates, to see what’s new and what’s not.

Then I opened the maps:Central Asia, Caucasus, and as each fold opened out before me, came a strong desire to get on the the road again. So there I was sitting on the floor supping coffee excited, feeling adventurous.

Only when I had the two maps spanned out in front of me, side by side, did I realise the actual distance to be covered in next year’s trip. My feelings changed from Indiana Jones style to Minnie Mouse. Feelings of being slightly overwhelmed by it all started to set in. Maps do put your travels in perspective, particulary distance. Can I cover the distance, by myself, overland? I won’t know until I try.

These maps are now on my wall ready to greet me in the morning and watch over me at night as I sleep. They look shiny and new but will gradually wear over the next 10 months. I will have memorised every city, town, seaport, and border crossing by the time I set off.

As for those colourful guidebooks? They are strategically placed on the floor next to my bed; ready to greet my big toe in the morning.My plans over the next few days will be focused on studying the intricate web of land border crossings in Central Asia and calculating the number of visas:single entry, multi entry and transit, I’ll need just to take a train from A to B. With the breakup of the Soviet Union, new republics arose but the old rail system remained. In the past it would have been easier (and cheaper) to travel by rail because it was all USSR and travel was within one country. But now the soviet rail system winds its way around the new republics, each with different visa requirements, each with a new set of rules. Each with a new type of headache.

I’ll keep you updated on the guidebooks.

Caffeinated Traveller

3 Comments
  1. Zowie permalink
    September 24, 2008 2:00 am

    Logistics. The true bane of travelling.

  2. September 24, 2008 9:29 am

    Yes logistics and guidebooks that weigh a ton. You know me I always like a project to work on.

  3. MonnyQ permalink
    October 3, 2008 5:09 pm

    Good luck with the ‘Planning & Analysis’ phase of the project. Let me know if you need any volunteers for UAT…

Comments are closed.