Skip to content

King and I

September 25, 2008

It was a hot damp late afternoon in Siem Reap when I first laid eyes on a charming person named King. I was sitting outside on the upper balcony of my guest house reading, he was outside on the ground floor kicking a soccer ball around. For me it was instant attraction, for King -dare I say – the same. How do I know this? He told me. Romance was in the air that late afternoon.

Within minutes of seeing King, he was standing next to me striking up conversation. He was a natural conversationalist, unlike other shy Cambodians I had met that week, King was confident, talkative and humorous. I knew I was slowly falling for him, he had a spell on me and I could tell I had one on him.

We met at the same place and time every evening over that week, conversing about life, sports, news and the future. King often worried about the future of his country, he didn’t tell me this but I could read his mind, his thoughts. There was also something else worrying him, something that began to build up slowly through the week affecting his high spirits.

On the last night at the guest house, it came out. We were both feeling somewhat down about the situation before us. I was flying out to New Zealand the next day and he was to continue on with his life in Cambodia a little empty. After a long silence King opened up and told me about his reason for being down. He was girlfriend less, had been all his life and was feeling the pressure from his friends, who all had relationships. King wore his heart on his sleeve that night and I felt for him. His beautiful doe eyes became small pools of water as he continued on with his story of finding true love. And then he turned and faced me.

I knew what he was thinking before he did. I anticipated his words before he had them arranged in his mind. It was difficult not to look at King, his beautiful smile, his soft olive skin and those eyes. King told me how he felt about me and wanted my response. My throat was dry, my heart sank and for the first time in a while -I was stuck for words.

And there was that silence again. He sensed this and panicked, shot up from the chair stumbling back into the door. But he didn’t leave. He pleaded for my reply. So I gave it to him, it was harder than I envisioned but I responded.

“King” I said quietly,”you are a fantastic person with a great future, but I cannot…cannot fall in love with you, Its impossible”. Harsh words from my mouth, but the truth had to be said. He became frustrated wanting to know “why?” He kept repeating “why, why” in disbelief. I took a deep breath and let it out slowly.

“King you have a great future, a great life ahead of you, but sweetie be real – you haven’t cut your adult teeth yet”

by Cate

by Cate

See what I mean about those eyes!

by Cate

by Cate

King had this aura around him, capturing peoples hearts as he went about his daily life. A truly neat kid!

Caffeinated Traveller

6 Comments
  1. Bear permalink
    September 25, 2008 10:37 pm

    Entirely captivating!

  2. September 26, 2008 8:04 am

    Awww shucks, I thought you might be a tad jealous.

  3. Bear permalink
    September 26, 2008 1:20 pm

    I was going there for a bit — but I’ve learned to take deep breaths and keep going 😉

  4. MonnyQ permalink
    October 3, 2008 5:05 pm

    What a heart breaker you are 😉 but I sure can see why. I’d fall for King any day with those beautiful eyes. Lucky for G. that King is too young

  5. November 26, 2009 9:17 am

    Oh! This is such a beautiful post!

Trackbacks

  1. Political Turmoil Forecast: Clinton Vs Palin

Comments are closed.