Skip to content

The light side of travel

October 3, 2008

To the typical traveller, travel involves more than just visiting somewhere new. Depending on the destination, a traveller can experience mixtures of delight, from culture to culinary, people to art, history to souvenirs.

My last trip back to New Zealand differed in many ways from my previous visits, I’m still trying to figure out why. The food was more stimulating, the scenery more eye popping and for some unknown reason, I became fascinated with lamps. I found myself constantly looking up or stopped in front of a shop, late at night, mesmerised by the lights within. Like a deer in front of an oncoming car.

The lamp that really attracted me- the Coral Lamp – seemed nothing outside of ordinary in the daylight. Often unnoticed by cafe and shop customers as they chatted noisily underneath.

But in front of the camera, the quiet beauty of the Coral Lamp performed.

by Cate

by Cate

And in the evening – beautifully illuminated itself, lit from within.

by Cate

by Cate

It was nice to discover that the lamp was designed by reknown kiwi designer David Trubridge, who has stockists in several countries and cities in Europe, Asia and the US (Miami). Too bad this lamp can’t fit into my shoe box apartment here in Seoul, but its still good to admire it as it lights up the evening.

Caffeinated Traveller

2 Comments
  1. October 3, 2008 2:26 pm

    It must be really awesome for you to be able to travel at least 3 times a year. You are very lucky because not all people can do that. I guess I am not a “travel pro” but I do love to travel. But there’s something I should change when I travel is “how to pack light?” 😀 I am a heavy packer as in, my friends tease me that I always bring my “mobile bathroom.”

    Like the beautiful lamps you got here, when I read your blog, I get goosebumps, simply amazing. Keep posting! ^_^

  2. Bear permalink
    October 3, 2008 11:18 pm

    I;m learning what you mean about coffee cafes having a nice feel to them 🙂

Comments are closed.