Skip to content

NZ, not just mountains and rings: kiwi humour

October 22, 2008

It has to be said that New Zealanders are blessed in many ways. They get to live in one of the most picturesque countries in the world, they have a great lifestyle; and they have a certain edginess to their humour which revolves around their laidback attitude. You can sum it all up with these simple words: “she’ll be right”.

 When my friends visit New Zealand for some reason unknown to me, they seem more interested in the  small eccentricities witnessed on the streets, than the jaw dropping scenary before them.

I never noticed these little oddities until they were pointed out to me. Something I have taken for granted and can only put down to how kiwis see their lives: “nothing is a problem, no worries…sweet as”.

To understand kiwi humour, it’s best to start with still life on the streets. At the top of the list are vehicles. For any driver, a vehicle is a great way to express their individuality and personality. The flash sporty car for the aggressive upwardly mobile analyst, the durable sedan for the family person. And then there are those who enjoy motoring around in classic, non classics:

by Joe May

by Joe May

And when the old non-classic classic needs fixing, slap on a bandaid and “she’ll be right”.

by Joe May

by Joe May

Even when you can afford a neo classic car, it’s very  important to park it far away from dangerous drivers, and pedestrians.

by Joe May

by Joe May

Of course the higher the better, out of reach from everyone.
Kiwi humour is an art. Understanding it is a science. Once you have mastered it, then you will truely start to enjoy the New Zealand way of life.
Caffeinated Traveller
8 Comments
  1. October 22, 2008 3:40 pm

    LOL… yeah I guess since we don’t hear much about NZ, I’ve never heard of the Kiwi humor. But from the looks of the photos above, its refreshing for a change. Btw, since you mentioned the NZ way of life, does everybody try to look fit and fabulous in NZ? Just curious. ^_^

  2. October 22, 2008 11:51 pm

    Well compared with other westerners..yes, noticeably in the cities. But I think the men tend to look slightly fitter than the women. Women are sometimes too being being super mums!
    Glad you liked the post Gigi 🙂

  3. Bear permalink
    October 23, 2008 12:11 am

    Well to cool. Kiwis have fun don’t they?
    🙂

  4. October 23, 2008 4:12 am

    Yes! It’s a well known kiwi fact that we know how to have fun. That’s why NZ has been labelled as the adventure capital of the world. Plus we are big on lifestyle. Keep reading my posts – I’ll be doing more on kiwi lifestyles.
    Nice to see you back here cmmmenting Bear!

  5. October 23, 2008 5:07 am

    I’m thinking what is Korean Kiwi humor. Let me know you can find it …

  6. October 23, 2008 10:52 pm

    Hey, I enjoyed this post. I really had no idea about Kiwi humor until I read this. I’ll be waiting for more kiwi lifestyle articles. 🙂

    Btw, thanks for dropping by my page.

  7. October 24, 2008 7:52 am

    Ji,
    Korean Kiwi humour is funny and more. Very relaxed people, not so impatient to get somewhere.

    Kind of like you in a way

  8. October 24, 2008 7:53 am

    Hey Asian Traveller thanks for your comments and welcome!
    I’ll send you a link when I do more posts on this topic.

Comments are closed.