Skip to content

The child in me

October 25, 2008

Getting involved with the local children is one of the most enjoyable part of my travels. I guess it’s the child in me.

I’ve been reading up the “how to take” tips on travel photography relating to children. One of the best tips given in The Travelers Notebook by talented travel photographer/writer Lola Akinmade, and I can say “AMEN” to, is to be able to relate to the child’s guardian. Once the guardian is relaxed and comfortable around you, so too is the child. And then you get their best side – the cute side.

by Cate

by Cate

 

For me, having a zoom lens helps. Sitting close and talking with the child keeps them relaxed.  When you zoom in close to their face, they find their reflection looking back, and become mesmerised.

by Cate

by Cate

Sometimes you do need reflexes faster than lightening. Or the anticipation of knowing what they will do next.

by Cate

by Cate

Taking shots of children ( and grumpy old men) has to be one of the more challenging parts of travel. Not just because of getting that one shot, but because children throughout the developing world have been widely photographed, often for the wrong reasons. As Lola suggests: establish a rapport with the guardian and ensure the child feels safe.
As for grumpy old men…I still haven’t figured that one out. Suggestions here would be appreciated.
Caffeinated Traveller
2 Comments
  1. October 25, 2008 12:52 pm

    Nice photos Cate. They are so cute. I also like taking photos of people when I travel, but unlike you I like to take candid shots, the more candid the better.

    My suggestion in taking photos of old grumpy men – take their photos while their sleeping! Chances are you’ll find them sleeping in a rocking chair or wooden bench in the veranda. ^_^

  2. October 27, 2008 4:34 am

    Shucks thanks Gigi. I always love your comments! Candid shots are the best and my preferred way to go (I’m sneaky). thanks for the tips on the grumpy old men. I actually have a nice shot of an old man snoozing outside a convenience store in Seoul. Another future post.

Comments are closed.