Skip to content

Dunkin in style – South Korea Style

November 8, 2008

For the longest time I have been wanting to tell my readers about some of the more “upmarket cafes” in South Korea. Upmarket cafes in the form of Dunkin Donuts. Dunkin Donuts is not a place I would match with class and style. In fact after seeing some of the outlets in its country of origin, I would have placed it right at the opposite end of the scale.

Not so in South Korea. Seoul especially. Seoul must have one of the flashest, stylish cafes around. What better place to dunk that deep fried bundle of dough. Take a look.

by Joe May

by Joe May

We are talking doughnuts right? Velour seating, mood lighting – all for doughnuts. I’m waiting for a jazz band or string quartet to start up soon.

So to all you Dunkin fans going to Seoul you will have to check this place out. This cafe is next to City  Hall subway station in the centre of Seoul. It’s a quick two minute walk from there.

To all you Dunkin fans, if your cafe doesn’t remotely resemble this one, perhaps you should have a word with the manager.

And no, this is by no means any form of plug to D.D

Caffeinated Traveller

5 Comments
  1. Bear permalink
    November 8, 2008 1:24 pm

    And wooden floors as well. D.D. has excellent coffee in the USA … I suppose they use the same coffee in Seoul?

  2. November 9, 2008 2:50 pm

    Cool! The D.D. a block away is remotely anything like that, let alone the seating. I wonder how much a coffee cost in this D.D. with style, probably triple than what I am used to. 😀

  3. Bear permalink
    November 10, 2008 12:01 am

    The D.D.s I’m accustomed to in the USA are clean but not designed to sit and enjoy a coffee or a snack. I suppose the one mentioned in the post is one of the special ones. It looks nice and welcoming, though.

  4. November 10, 2008 1:46 am

    Well I guess this DD is a little special as it’s in the centre of Seoul. But I have seen alot of boutiquish looking DD in South Korea even in its southern cities.
    Cost is just that much more expensive, but so is Starbucks and anything non Korean.
    The coffee?? If you like your coffee with a burnt bitter aftertaste then you should enjoy the coffee at this DD. I prefer my coffee strong but smooth.
    Gigi how much is coffee at your DD?

  5. November 13, 2008 12:36 pm

    It was sooo long ago when I had coffee at a nearby DD. I don’t like their coffee so much coz its too strong for me. But my guess would be $1.04. 😀 I guess that’s why my fave is a warm cup of Cappuccino.

Comments are closed.