Skip to content

Are you a tea addict like me?

November 14, 2008

I have become a tea addict recently – caffeine and non caffeine brews. I haven’t given up on the coffee, it’s just hard to find a quality cup around my neighbourhood.

And that old cliche goes, when in Rome…..So when in South Korea, one should drink tea – green tea.

by Cate

by Cate

 There is something to be said about drinking green tea from delicate porcelain cups. Although my pinky does not go up when I raise the cup to my lips, I can still act out the elegant lady role.

Tea cafes (sounds much better than tea shops) are also high on my list of haunts. These are just as popular as ordinary cafes. Sometimes it’s fun to wander around the narrow backstreets in Seoul’s Hongdae district and drop in to a cute cosy place. Here is where the teas are yummy, suiting the tastes of the younger clientele. You may not be supping from a fine piece of china, but the charm of the surroundings, ensures you feel every bit of a lady. Or a gent.

by Cate

by Cate

My favourite blend for the winter months – non-caffeinated fruit infusion Ruby Tang by TEAse. A mix of blood red oranges, and other citron flavours.

After writing this post I’m craving a fruity infusion.

Caffeinated (and non caffeinated) Traveller

2 Comments
  1. Bear permalink
    November 15, 2008 6:39 pm

    The Ruby Tang sounds yummy. My fave is Earl Grey with a tad of honey. The variety of teas is amazing, though, isn’t it?

  2. Erin permalink
    April 28, 2009 11:31 am

    It can be hard for me to stomach fruit teas, especially packed in paper bags and cartons bought from a supermarket, but these tea houses soulnd great. Des was listening to a article from the National Radio regarding the huge benefits in drinking Green Tea over a number of years (i should of started when i was 20 like) to not, in a survey done in China.

Comments are closed.