Skip to content

Holy Maria – our lady of coffee?

November 20, 2008

Concept cafes can be found all over Seoul – and around the world. And they are high on my blogging list of ‘must visit’. The concept itself can be something as simple as books. Or as novel as religion.

On a walkabout last week, just outside the subway station at Cheongdam-dong (where Seoul’s elite meet), I found ‘Holy Maria’ gift store. So I took at look inside to see if there was anything worth buying for my beloved mum, and also because I have a curious nature.

Then I smelt an aroma – freshly brewed coffee. In a natural sequence of events, I had to follow my nose up the winding spiral staircase towards the heavens, and find that coffee.

And find that coffee I did. Behind glass doors I found Holy Maria: icons, jewellery, and adoration, all tucked within a cafe.

by Cate

by Cate

I just had to sit amongst it all. Holy Maria’s cafe is a quiet tranquil place, it has no designer chairs or knock me out decor to talk about. But it has Maria, peaceful, compassionate Maria, looking over as you try not dwell on past sins.

by Cate

by Cate

Tranquility aside, the coffee is not up to celestial standards, nor uplifting, if anything insipidly weak.

by Cate

by Cate

Did I get my rosary out and pray, did I find any new relevelation to my life? No only a novel concept cafe dedicated to those with stronger convictions than mine.

Caffeinated Traveller

6 Comments
  1. November 20, 2008 2:31 pm

    Pretty interesting. I guess the owner won’t mind if their customers take out their rosaries and start to pray (?). Though I’ve never tried praying the rosary while sipping a cup of coffee, maybe its a good idea to prevent dryness of mouth while praying the novena. 😀

  2. November 20, 2008 9:19 pm

    Even though the coffee wasn’t the best, it still seems like a tranquil place to have a cup of the good stuff…..

    The Barbados Blog

  3. November 21, 2008 4:10 am

    I think one of the neat things about travel is that, no matter where you go, there is always something new to stimulate you. Yes the coffee was poor but it was very serene in there.
    As for the rosary beads..I was looking at the price of them – $10,000.
    If I had bought the beads at that price, I probably would have broken them.In the past I had a habit of swinging them around my hand. Sounds horrible but I started doing this when I was eight years old. I watched my school principal do this (she was an ancient looking nun), and I thought it was a cool thing to do.

  4. Bear permalink
    November 21, 2008 9:00 pm

    Wow … $10,000! Did you mean W10,000?

  5. November 22, 2008 2:16 pm

    I totally missed this post on my last read, it is great.

  6. November 23, 2008 6:49 am

    Thanks Allison, I just rescued your comment from the spam.
    Glad you liked it.

Comments are closed.