Skip to content

New Zealand’s micro hotel….So What?

December 17, 2008
Since my last blog post on NZ baches was popular – and summer vacation is approaching – I thought it would be good to share with you a special hotel in Christchurch designed for the frugal traveller – Hotel So.
Hotel So is a trendy micro hotel big on design and technology, and small on cost. I stayed in Hotel So in July this year. Not knowing what to expect I was dubious when the taxi pulled up outside the hotel. There stood Hotel So in the early evening with its neon lights glowing. My immediate thoughts were –  OMG an asian love hotel.
by Joe May

by Joe May

Once I entered its sleekly designed foyer I quickly forgot those love hotel thoughts. The friendly reception greets you on the left, and the ever so smart “What Bar” entices you in on the right. A clever play with words “So What”.
Hotel So

Hotel So

Each room provides you with the important things you need in the way of comfort, including mood lighting and music to help you recover from your long flight.  Every inch has been carefully considered in keeping with the pod concept.

Hotel So

Hotel So

 

For most travellers, budget is important and the hotel is very aware of this. If you are on a budget and backpackers aren’t your thing, Hotel So is a great choice. And on the coffee front – AA Plus.

The hotel is located in central Christchurch next to the Hotel Grand Chancellor. Check out Hotel So website if you are planning a trip to NZ. It’s also family friendly, not sure about pet friendly though. 

Caffeinated Traveller

5 Comments
  1. December 17, 2008 4:38 pm

    This is a great hotel find, Cate! Maybe it is only me but the outside of the hotel looks a little like a colorful parking garage.

    • December 18, 2008 10:17 am

      Its not only you, I was thinking a similar thought when I posted this picture. Looks are very deceiving in this case. It is a good find. The food,coffee, service were all superb.

  2. Bear permalink
    December 18, 2008 11:17 am

    I’ve stayed there and agree that it is quite a place. And the different colors on the ouside are also the colors of their respective floors. There is also a gratis intenet lounge and kitchen … and they use wide screen Macs no less. A classy hotel on an economic budget … a great buy for the money I thought. I hope the concept catches on and gets around more of the world.

    • December 19, 2008 5:06 am

      You must get around this globe a lot. Thanks for more information on the hotel. The micro hotel concept isvery popular in Europe and I think there is one in Dubai.
      Are you still in Japan? Have you been to one of the numerous capsule hotels?

  3. Bear permalink
    December 19, 2008 7:44 am

    Hi,

    I’ve left Japan and am back home in the US. I stayed in what I think are micro hotels — I was able to walk into the room. Quite nice — enough room for a bed, a bathroom (shower and toilet), small desk and TV. The rates were about $60USD/night. Folks there are very nice.

Comments are closed.