Skip to content

Christmas is really about the tree.

December 26, 2008

One of my favourite moments in my childhood was decorating the Christmas tree. My mother would organise to have a freshly cut pine tree delivered 3 weeks before Christmas. Timing was important for the delivery date. It couldn’t be any earlier or the tree would wilt. Once the tree arrived, my sisters and I would grab a bucket, run outside to mum’s beautiful rose garden and fill the bucket with freshly dug soil. I never knew why we had to use soil, I guess in my mind it was to keep the tree alive although we probably killed mum’s roses in the process.

After putting the tree’s trunk into the bucket of soil, and wrestling with its spiky pine needles, mum finally had it where she wanted it – upright like a tin soldier – in the corner of our living room. Then the magic began.

With squeals of delight out came the decorations, tinsel, glass balls, old ornaments mum had collected on her travels through Europe, and lastly the beautiful white ceramic angel. It was a yearly honour for one of us children to place the angel on the highest branch of the tree. When the decorations had been hung and the tree awaited its angel, mum would nominate the lucky one.Usually it was the one who was extra nice to mum during the year (doing the assigned house chores).

With bated breath my siblings and I would watch the lucky one hang the angel –  a beautiful golden girl.  She was never comfortable with her position at the top of the tree, sometimes leaning forward in protest, other times falling off, but with some sticky taped to her hollow base, she always looked glorious in her place in the end. It was then, at this point in time, that I knew Christmas had arrived in our house.

Now I’m no longer a child and my Christmas ideals have changed, so too have my thoughts on Christmas trees. It seems that with some imagination, you can make a tree out of anything.

Environmentally friendly trees being the way to go:

I still enjoy seeing a tree smothered in lights. Not so green on both fronts but still picturesque:

Joe May

Joe May

To my family, friends, fellow bloggers and readers……………

Merry Christmas everyone and safe travels.

Caffeinated Traveller

7 Comments
  1. Bear permalink
    December 26, 2008 3:04 pm

    The tree made of books is wonderfully done 🙂 Happy New Year as well.

  2. December 27, 2008 3:43 am

    That “tree” made of the books on the shelves in my favorite. Will have to make myself one of those next year.

    Hope you had a good Christmas, Cate.

  3. Cate permalink
    December 28, 2008 4:14 am

    Bear and Spot Cool Stuff – Thanks hope your Christmas went well…New Years is next! I’m also planning on making a book tree next year. One of the better things I can do with all my paperbacks.

  4. December 29, 2008 2:08 pm

    Great feature! On my recent trip to Mexico, astroturf trees seemed to be the most popular choice for public tree displays (not so many pines available down there!).

    • December 30, 2008 2:25 am

      Heather: I have to see those trees. I’m always in ‘awe’ of peoples ability to make things out of whats around. I say awe because I lack the creativity to do this myself.
      Have a great new year.

  5. December 29, 2008 7:26 pm

    Great post…. I’m no longer a child either but I still love to have childhood moments. Thanks for sharing this with us.

    • December 30, 2008 2:23 am

      You are very welcome. I had fun writing it – it brought back all these memories.

Comments are closed.