Skip to content

The pressure has been building all week…..

January 16, 2009

and then finally in the quiet of the evening, the icy cold air fell away. Gently one by one, crystal flakes fell across the roads, across the winter fields, until a blanket covered Seoul. A blanket soft but crunchy, a blanket of snow.

by Cate

by Cate

Not such a big deal you might say, particularly if you are suffering from heavy falls this season. It’s a small scale deal in Seoul. The graying bleakness has finally given way to whiteness, even if only for a short time. It is refreshing to awake in the morning and see nature in the act. That wondrous mother, who has fine tuned her formula over the centuries, showing artists just how easy it is to enhance and beautify a concrete jungle. No paint brushes required.

by Cate

by Cate

As for me, I like the less than perfect snowfall where footprints mingle and munch without dulling the landscape.

by Cate

by Cate

These moments are ones that need to be captured. Whenever it snows in Seoul, out I go, camera in hand capturing the short lived winter beauty. Before the crystals melt and frostbite sets in.

Caffeinated Traveller

7 Comments
  1. January 20, 2009 7:47 pm

    Nice photos, it never occurred to me that it could snow somewhere like Seoul so it was really interesting to see your photographs.

    I took some similar ones at my place in the South of France which you can see on my blog, bit more country though rather than town.

    • January 21, 2009 11:05 am

      Thanks Brian. It does snow sometimes here in Seoul, more often around the city in the hills and mountains. It’s nice to see it snow although I’m not keen on the freeze after it’s snowed when it becomes hard and icy. Your blog too is also very nicely done, and your home…..I have green eyes.
      I hope you will come back and post comments to compare differences between Korea and Sth France.
      C

  2. January 21, 2009 2:20 am

    Discovered your blog and enjoyed your photos of the snow – much like here in Montana, USA.

    I look forward to following your posts and wish you the best in the year ahead.

    • January 21, 2009 11:29 am

      Marlene hi and thanks for your comments. I would love for you to follow me on my travels. If you have ventured there before me then please feel free to pass on your tips. When I eventually make to Montana I hope you can fill me in on the all the good spots.
      Take care

  3. anninateatime permalink
    January 25, 2009 8:02 am

    Beautiful photos, it’s always wonderful to see how the snow transforms the ordinary cityscape to a winter dream. I wish Seoul would send us some of their snow – in Copenhagen we enjoy quite grey weather, but no snow.
    /anna

    • January 25, 2009 2:46 pm

      Thanks Annina. I always pictured Copenhagen with snow during the winter. I think it’s because it is so far north and I read too many fairy tales as a child. I’ll put in a word with mother nature about giving you some snow.

Trackbacks

  1. The romanticism of snow:South Korean style « CAFFEINATED TRAVELLER

Comments are closed.