Skip to content

My upcoming travel stint: Malaysia truly Asia

January 18, 2009

If you have travelled through Asia at some point and watched CNN international, then you will be very familiar with the promotional song “Malaysia Truly Asia, the mountains and the sea….”

When I tell my friends in Seoul that I’m going to Malaysia for a holiday, there is a sudden outburst of this song’s chorus, most of it done in an inharmonious operetta manner.

Yes Malaysia has lush mountains – Kota Kinabalu, and beautiful sandy beaches – Penang, Langkawi, but is also has great tea plantations, history,colonial and moor architectural influence, and a ton of life. Include Singapore and Brunei into the travel equation and it all makes for a trip of colour, food, culture and hopefully some great blogging.

My plan is to travel north and cover some tea plantations, colonial outposts, mosques and a few out of the ordinary sites through Malaysia, Brunei, Singapore and Hong Kong. I will bring it all back to you readers, so you won’t need to pack anything, just find a comfortable chair, good coffee and lots of your usual enjoyable commentary.

Until my departure date on the 2nd February, I’ll still be posting on Korea and New Zealand. But for now please enjoy this small tribute to Malaysia: truly Asia all sung in tune.

Does this make you just a little jealous….?

Caffeinated Traveller

2 Comments
  1. Bear permalink
    January 20, 2009 12:36 pm

    The islands there look spectacular!

  2. Cate permalink
    January 20, 2009 12:59 pm

    They do and I will tell you how the sand and water is once I get there. I like the idea of the jungle train myself.

Comments are closed.