Skip to content

Asia – my playground

February 3, 2009

As a New Zealander, I am constantly being asked why I don’t live in my own country and why I prefer to spend time living in one of the biggest cities in the world. The answer is very simple – travel.

While I love my country, when it comes to world travel, the playground around NZ is very small and expensive. Pacific Islands and Australia are whats on offer, but nothing else. Like Europe, Asia is a travel hub giving me some freedom to move around from country to country. Unlike Europe, travel through Asia is still relatively cheap. Even more so with the recent economical crisis. It all sounds self indulgent I know, but we all have some form of indulgence in our lives.

The next three weeks

By the time you read this post I will be sipping Singapore Slings in Raffles, singing opera karaoke with businessmen and discovering more to Brunei than just oil and sultans.

Stay tuned, add me to your favourites or bookmark this site if you haven’t done so already. I plan on bringing to you insights into what makes Singapore unique, Malaysia truly Asia and reasons why you should add Brunei to your travel list. And it’s free, well for you at least.

These upcoming posts will hopefully answer some of you readers questions on why I live in Asia – my travel playground.

by cate

by Cate

Check out my travel plans on the right-hand column just above the translation service. You can also follow me on Twitter as catekiwi or by clicking on the link at the top right hand column

I’m looking forward to sharing my travels with you.

Caffeinated Traveller

6 Comments
  1. February 3, 2009 5:24 pm

    I can’t wait to read all about it…

    Tell me – do the taxi doors in Singapore get opened by the driver, like in Japan?

  2. February 4, 2009 1:27 pm

    Can’t wait to read your posts. Take care!

  3. February 4, 2009 2:26 pm

    I think it’s completely natural to want to explore what you have not yet seen (which leaves me longing to explore BOTH New Zealand and Asia!)… Love your posts!

  4. February 5, 2009 4:14 am

    Sharon – Taxi drivers may do, but they didn’t for me. In fact I had to put my own bags into the trunk of the car. Shocking!! Taxis are still relatively cheap but the added taxes they put on at the end,doesn’t make them that cost effective.

    Gigi – Thanks Gigi. Next trip will be the Philippines!!

    Heather – I agree, it is natural to want to explore and discover. With luck I should be able to entice you over to this part of the world sooner than you planned.

  5. Erica Johansson permalink
    February 16, 2009 11:17 pm

    Here I got the answer to my questions. I haven’t visited your blog in a while and I missed the travel plans info in the sidebar.

    I haven’t been to Asia…yet, but I can understand why you chose Asia as your playground. Where else in the world is it possible to experience such a diversity at the same cost? Nowhere. I think.

    • February 17, 2009 10:40 am

      Erica – yes my blog template is not the friendliest for readers am thinking about changing it…sometime. Asia – well it is a great playground for the curious and the discoverer. Not the easiest to travel around if you haven’t experienced poverty or crowds before. Certainly much cheaper than other parts of the world, although I think this is slowly changing. You must come over soon.

Comments are closed.