Skip to content

Malaysia, my love affair with Laksa

February 25, 2009

I first met laksa back in New Zealand, admittedly it was New Zealand style, a little sassy spice enough to tempt, not the hot stroppy spice that provokes. I knew laksa originated from somewhere in SE Asia, but it took me a while to figure out exactly where. Then I went to Kuala Lumpur in 06 and met Malaysian laksa. It was at that moment I realised that heaven existed. Food heaven it may well be but it was heaven. Throughout my travels this time around, my staple diet mainly consisted of laksa.

I’d like you to meet laksa, the popular rice noodle dish of Malaysia, Singapore and found in Brunei. Laksa isn’t a guy in case you were wondering. Being a non-foodie (which is why I seldom blog about food), describing the appearance of this delectable dish and capturing it’s good side needs the skill of a surgeon – a foodie.

As I never went to food surgery school, I will leave it up to your imagination.

by Cate

by Cate

Think of laksa as a coconut milk based soup dish, thick with rice noodles, chili, possibly lemon grass, shredded chicken, fresh prawns, lime to taste and a boiled egg on the side. Mix together and eat with chopsticks and a spoon.

Singaporeans claim to make the best laksa, seafood usually small cockles, prawns, shredded nondescript food, a hard boiled egg on top of rice noodles, with coconut soup poured over it. Add a flame to keep it hot and voila!

by Cate

by Cate

Personally I like the Malaysian laksa from Kuching, top picture. It’s the combination of freshly shredded cucumber and lime juice which make it tastier. And it doesn’t look as sloppy.

Laksa is an easy introduction to foods from this region. It’s also relatively simple to pronounce and won’t get you flustered when you sit down to order. An added bonus is that it’s a relatively cheap meal, providing the price of rice stays low. A great dish for budgets but perhaps not for the weight conscious traveller.

by Cate

by Cate

Wherever you go in these countries, the cook’s interpretation on how to make a good laksa will always differ. Noodles may be thick, thin or both. Flavours nay be strong or mild, but the colour will always be the same – laksa red.

I recommend trying it the next time you want something different in Malaysia or Singapore.

Caffeinated Traveller

8 Comments
  1. February 26, 2009 2:29 am

    ~Sounds really interesting and definitely worth sampling! Does it have a spicy kick or is the coconut the predominant flavor?

  2. Cate permalink
    February 27, 2009 2:26 am

    It actually tastes better than my pictures show. Not that spicy more coconut. Then it depends on who is serving it up. The stuff I had in Brunei was hotter than Singapore. The shopping centres in KL and Singapore have create foodcourts which is where you can sample this dish.

  3. March 2, 2009 2:30 am

    Hey,
    Cool blog, I just came across it and I’m already a dedicated reader
    I recently lost 30 pounds in 30 days, and I want to share my weight loss success
    with everyone. I described my experience
    on my blog, and I would appreciate your comments!

    Joan
    >

  4. March 2, 2009 1:22 pm

    Lovely pictures of laksa! It’s also one of my favourites to have when back in Singapore.

    Cheryl

    • March 4, 2009 6:04 am

      Then you must know what a real laksa tastes like. I’m still trying to figure out what was in the ones I ate in Singapore.

  5. March 8, 2009 12:20 pm

    Those pictures have made this Scotsman real hungry, so hungry in fact, I’m off to great little noodle bar that I know….

    • March 9, 2009 5:56 am

      I hope the noodles were good. Spicy?

Trackbacks

  1. Tips for getting around Malaysia « CAFFEINATED TRAVELLER

Comments are closed.