Skip to content

When a Malaysian guy just isn’t into you

February 28, 2009

Women all over the world could share a story or two about the time when a guy wasn’t into them. Generally they will flick it off as bad timing and laugh about it. For me, I usually associate this phrase with negative sentiment. Call it a sense of pride or neurosis, but when a guy doesn’t dig me, I want to know all the reasons why.

An encounter occurred in Kuala Lumpur during the Lunar New Year celebrations. Arriving at the end of the week’s partying and praying, Kuala Lumpur gave me a eye opening welcome with a fireworks display over the Petronas Towers; and much noise throughout my short stay.

Noise by way of drums beating and symbols crashing, keeping time with energetic Chinese dragons dancing from shopkeepers door to door, as wishes for prosperity and luck rang out.

Having missed most of the New Year celebrations in Singapore, I decided to wander around Chinatown in KL, carefully avoiding the crashing and booming noise plus the squeals of delight from children. It was late in the morning, extremely humid, and the crowd and traffic were building.

The weight of my camera was getting to me and after realising I was never going to grab a spectacular shot, I began to move away from the small time troubadours around the area. My eyes were caught on a group of young guys beating drums, all deep in concentration, trying to keep in rhythm. With my camera armed and ready for that one shot, I patiently waited. And then I spied him, his profile intuitively told me that he was the one I wanted.

He was totally into the music and performance, he never knew I was behind him. Sweating and possibly dehydrated, it didn’t matter, he was mesmerised by the activity. He wasn’t about to move for any reason.

Luck turned. He saw his friend’s eyes shift to where I stood. Being naturally inquisitive, he followed those eyes, turned his head, and met my camera.

by Cate

by Cate

He gave me one frame only. He saw me, gestured a look of disgust, and turned back into the celebration. I knew what he was thinking: “Yuck a silly girl wasting my time”.

Yep he just wasn’t that into me. Did I care? This time no, I got my shot, not perfect but good enough.

Caffeinated Traveller

6 Comments
  1. February 28, 2009 5:41 pm

    I liked the lead up, and the reversal. Nicely done – that being said, the picture itself is pretty fantastic; if only one is possible, that was a great one.

  2. March 1, 2009 5:08 pm

    Love it! ~And I think you got the shot…

  3. March 1, 2009 8:58 pm

    Love this shot Cate! You have a great eye and that does not look like a “disgust” to me…quite the opposite.

  4. Cate permalink
    March 2, 2009 4:27 am

    Thanks everyone for the comments on the picture.
    Sharon – it was the look he gave me after the shot that I really should have taken. The nose turned up,he was totally unimpressed.

  5. March 2, 2009 10:03 am

    Great post and awesome photo…what a cutie!

    • March 4, 2009 6:07 am

      Yes he is a cutie. If only he knew how famous he has become.

Comments are closed.