Skip to content

When the taste buds become bored

April 27, 2009

Living and travelling abroad can be a dream come true for your gastro senses as new aromas, tastes and colour magically come alive while wandering the streets and markets.  Yet sometimes the diet of one culture can become too familiar and bland after you have sampled and marvelled till you can marvel no more. In many cultures, traditional cuisines sit next to modern fusion. Variety adds a balance and counteracts the monotonous feeling. While in other cultures, variety can be limited and kept at bay, sometimes by fierce pride and stubbornness, other times because society is still opening up. In times like these when the palette becomes dulled my craving for fruit takes hold.

I am unabashedly a non-foodie also known as a coward when it comes to food adventures. I do not wander gastro pastures unknown unless it comes in the form of fruit. Fruit is something I can adore, admire, taste, sample and spit out if the taste doesn’t suit. Tropical and citrus fruit are high on my list of travel loves; cravings become uncontrollable, desire strong and want changes to need.

by Cate

by Cate

From mandarins to tangerines and pomelos, Singapore to South Korea, Asia has an abundance in these delectable citrus fruits.

by Cate

by Cate

Row upon row, colour upon colour, fruits and flavours, textures and smells. Exotic tastes and names: dragon fruit, mango, mangosteen, pawpaw, papaya. An endless list encourages the cravings.

by Cate

by Cate

Best of all, is trying out the fruit with international reputations, notoriety; unwelcomed on planes and in hotels.

Once you make it past the smell, it’s like stepping into fruit paradise. Wonder if there is a durian flavoured tea or coffee?

Caffeinated Traveller

12 Comments
  1. April 27, 2009 2:22 pm

    You will probably find that there are a lot of durian flavored snacks, such as Durian flavored vanilla wafers.

  2. April 28, 2009 1:30 pm

    Haven’t had durian tea or coffee … but … mmmmmmmmm….durian chips

  3. April 28, 2009 1:54 pm

    bry0000000 – yes have sampled the snacks and indulged in the ice cream. I like how you can smell it before you see it…miles before you see it.

    Trent – no haven’t had durian chips. Sounds good! On my list and thanks for the info.

  4. April 28, 2009 11:37 pm

    Love a food challenge! As long as I can peel it, I will eat it…a lot of fruit or even a veggie can stink like cheese but taste reallly good once you start chewing.

    Nice pictures Cate.

    • April 29, 2009 2:20 pm

      Ahhh we have many things in common.

  5. May 2, 2009 1:17 am

    I’m a big fan of the natural, be it fruits or vegetables. Sampling the native grown produce is definitely one of the kicks of traveling! Terrific photos!

    • May 2, 2009 8:59 am

      Heather – what kinds of produce did you have on your travels recently down south? Anything exotic?

  6. May 4, 2009 2:53 pm

    I had my first “prickly pear” fruits from the cactus of the same name. Delicious flavor but with hard almost pebble-like seeds when eaten raw.
    ~And I devoured every kind of hot pepper I could find!!

    • May 7, 2009 8:37 am

      I’ve had prickly pear chocolate, wouldn’t mind trying the pears.

  7. May 5, 2009 6:08 am

    We do have durian candy. Not sure whether you have tried it.
    Besides that, there is one type of snack which made by durian too – quite sticky. Not sure how it call in English. But you can find in Malaysia.

    • May 7, 2009 8:35 am

      Ching Ching – I have tried some kind of durian based sweet rice cake I think. I should send you a picture and you can tell me what is.

Trackbacks

  1. When the taste buds become bored

Comments are closed.