Skip to content

With love comes hope, greed hunger – Bloggers Unite

April 28, 2009

It is not easy to write about something I have never really personally experienced. Something that I have only witnessed on TV or silently observed from a distance during my travels. My pitiful experience of hunger came when I wanted to be a stick thin teenager and so I proceeded to starve myself. That period lasted a week. I couldn’t deal with the hunger pains. I was lucky, I had a choice but others do not have a choice. Drought drains life from peoples crops, dries up their water holes, increases food costs. War steals from them giving sustenance to the soldiers; and corrupt officials.

There are too many stories of sadness to count so I’d like to share with you a happy story that with luck, can give us back some hope.

In a small orphanage outside Siem Reap

Spending some time in Cambodia taught me a valuable lesson about overcoming hunger through the actions of love. In a small grass roots orphanage on the outskirts of Siem Reap live 25 children of all shapes, sizes and age. They live from hand to mouth, their home is basic but clean, their only problem has been that of poverty. These children may not have tangible wealth, but they have intangible wealth. Love is abundant throughout the orphanage, love which has come from the affection and dedication of one man – Sunthan Sunthan. Father to the orphans, protector and provider.

Sunthan is a local man, who has not only shown love but given hope to 25 children. Life is not easy for Sunthan and the children, he struggles to find money for food and suffers when basic staples such as rice, become expensive due to greedy speculators. Despite his constant worries and fears, he manages. From the kind acts of individuals and through his own personal savings, the children get three meals a day including a big cup of love.

by Cate

by Cate

Empowering the right people

Through small actions and kindness, pangs of hunger can disappear.  Sunthan shows that it is possible to give back hope in the face of hopelessness.  It doesn’t have to come from foreign aid which often harbours corruption, it can begin from within the community, the grass roots. Yet empowering local people to act and think for themselves can only be achieved when hunger dissipates, because greed comes from hunger. How did food become such a powerful tool in the game of control?

Where am I in this picture?

I could say that today I will not eat, as a way of showing I care, but I think this is a short fix. It is more important that I change the way I use food, the frivoulous spending and waste. It is  more important that I give to a grass roots organisation that helps stop hunger and encourages hope. Whenever I can, I try to spend my time and money on Sunthan’s orphanage. It is not as much nor as often as I would like, but it’s a start. Changes don’t have to be mammoth, they just have to be done.

Sunthan’s Orphanage -Siem Reap Cambodia

If you would like to know more about this orphanage in Siem Reap, please contact me personally – caffeinatedtraveller [at] gmail [dot] com. Readers keep following my blog, I plan to do more posts on this wonderful man Sunthan and his 25 energetic orphans — my surrogate family.

Thanks everyone for participating and for reading, please click on Bloggers Unite to read more from bloggers who care.

Caffeinated Traveller

13 Comments
  1. Bear permalink
    April 29, 2009 1:17 am

    So … one person can make a difference … a real difference. A hero in the 21st century. Inspiring! Thanks and I’ll be checking out the link.

    • April 29, 2009 2:22 pm

      Who said you had to move mountains. I would think that the people who suffer don’t expect that, they just want someone to know their suffering, to offer them some light at the end of the tunnel. Thanks Bear.

  2. April 30, 2009 5:25 am

    hey Cate, this was a beautifully written piece. I really liked what you said about going grass root. start small, but make a significant difference, even if to just a handful of people !

  3. May 1, 2009 4:45 pm

    Hi cate,thank you for your wonderful sharing . I strongly believe that everyone on the planet can make a big diferrent on a lot of thing.This include how we live our life and how we care about this earth!

  4. May 2, 2009 8:57 am

    Ms. N – thanks, it’s always good to have someone who can understand my thinking. I do believe in keeping it local. It’s about empowerment.

    Midori – hi thanks and welcome and yes what you said it true. I agree 100%

  5. May 2, 2009 9:12 am

    As long as travelling continues, we shall discover more and more miseries between happiness.
    To move a mountain is not easy, but it will be a reality in some days to come.

    • May 3, 2009 1:18 pm

      True, travel uncovers the truth whether we want to see it or not; but it also makes people do wondrous acts of kindness. Thanks for your comment, it’s insightful and welcomed.

  6. May 18, 2009 9:49 pm

    Hi. On behalf of the team at BlogCatalog and BloggersUnite, I wanted to say thank you so much for participating in the Hunger and Hope event.

    Your post was chosen as one of the ten best and a link to your post has been included on the BlogCatalog blog as well as the Copywrite, Ink. blog.

    Thanks again for participating!

  7. May 19, 2009 2:53 am

    Thanks for sharing a positive example of how one person, especially local, can make a huge difference. Also thanks for encouraging each of us to do our small part by using yourself as an example of what you will do.

    Congratulations that this post is among the top 10 in Bloggers for Hunger and Hope.

  8. MichaellaS permalink
    July 22, 2009 8:45 pm

    tks for the effort you put in here I appreciate it!

Trackbacks

  1. The BlogCatalog Community Blog » Blog Archive » Bloggers Unite for Hunger and Hope: The Impact
  2. Bloggers Unite for Hunger and Hope: The Impact | KESEHATAN ANDA
  3. Bloggers Unite for Hunger and Hope: The Impact | CINEGUPSHUP.COM

Comments are closed.