Skip to content

Photo Friday– chocolatier Lily O’Briens

June 19, 2009

When I first saw the sign “Lily O’Briens” I automatically thought it was an Irish pub, like Molly Malone or Kitty O’Shea.In fact it turned out to be a scrummy chocolatier on Bryant Square in New York City.

Melting mouthfuls of dark and milk chocolates all stored within a chocolate box sized store serving up caffeine on the side.

by Cate

by Cate

An added sweetner to this experience were the friendly helpful staff, yes it was New York New York. Whoever said people aren’t friendly here.

by Cate

by Cate

When you order a drink, you get a complimentary chocolate beautifully wrapped in “PINK”. A chocolate lovers toy store, prices here are inexpensive, yes in New York New York.

by Cate

by Cate

If you have a taste for sweet chocolate consider this place your second home. I found the dark chocolate smelt divine but was a little too sweet for my taste buds.

I recommend checking this place out if you are in the area, it’s artistically designed, smells good and a quiet retreat from New York’s bustle.

by Cate

by Cate

Chocolate and coffee — such simple pleasures in life; or decadence! For more great photos check out the ever popular Delicious Baby

Caffeinated Traveller

24 Comments
  1. June 19, 2009 5:31 pm

    That looks like my idea of heaven!

    Sorry you missed the launch, too. Are you going to try again?

  2. June 19, 2009 6:44 pm

    Wow…this is a place my youngest and I could eat our way out of!

  3. June 19, 2009 7:38 pm

    The cup of chocolate looks so tempting….

  4. June 19, 2009 8:07 pm

    That looks great. NYC has some unbelievable spots. I remember when I lived there, you find the gems:)
    Photo Friday – INBioparque – A Kid’s Dream

  5. June 19, 2009 8:56 pm

    I’m a huge (HUGE) fan of Lily O’Briens. There’s stores in Dublin too – and at the airport 🙂

  6. June 19, 2009 9:17 pm

    how cool is THAT?!! thanks for sharing!

  7. June 19, 2009 11:44 pm

    Thanks everone for your comments. I hope you enjoyed drooling over the chocolate. That was the plan.

  8. June 20, 2009 8:21 am

    Oh. Looks so mouth watering! It looks so good and I know it’s must be really bad (calorie-wise) for you. hehe.. 🙂 I couldn’t possibly stop at one.

  9. June 20, 2009 1:13 pm

    This looks like a great place to add to my to-do list as I’m heading to NYC in October for 10 days!

  10. June 20, 2009 6:02 pm

    Now you’ve made me hungry! that first pic is causing me to salivate. Sounds like a place I want to visit.

  11. June 21, 2009 12:08 am

    Yum, chocolate and caffeine…my ultimate orgasm!

  12. June 21, 2009 3:51 am

    Looks like a great change of pace from the usual coffeehouse fare!

  13. June 21, 2009 8:48 am

    We’re taking a family trip to NYC in September and this is definitely going on my list. I can’t believe I’ve never heard of it before.

  14. Carolina permalink
    June 21, 2009 10:04 am

    I always love food/restaurant tips. Adding it to my NY list. Awesome photos.

  15. June 22, 2009 5:54 am

    Thanks for share.Great picture. It sound delicious. See you on my blog. I hope we can share some information.

  16. June 22, 2009 11:23 pm

    This small place is worth visiting. And if you love chocolate try and find Kees chocolatier which is just around the corner from Lily O’Briens. It’s in the HSBC building, you have to keep an eye out for the small sign; and its open Bank hours. I missed out on going there, but I have heard it is suppose to be one of the best. Let me know if any of you make it there.

  17. Erica Johansson permalink
    June 23, 2009 12:24 am

    Mmm… I haven’t eaten chocolate in weeks. This was just what I needed today!

  18. June 23, 2009 10:59 pm

    i loved the bryant’s park book corner and enjoyed a nice lazy afternoon there… but can’t belive i missed such a nice chocolatier!

  19. MaryAnn permalink
    June 25, 2009 6:08 pm

    Amazing place..and they serve Illy coffee too.. Check out the sticky toffee its almost as divine as the Irish guy who owns the place!

    • June 25, 2009 8:42 pm

      MaryAnn – Never saw the owner 😦
      Ms N- didn’t see the bookstore on Bryant Square. I’ll have to go back. Thanks for the heads up.

  20. June 26, 2009 1:12 am

    OMG! Lovely lovely chocolates! Made my day looking at the pictures!

    Cheryl

    • June 26, 2009 9:05 pm

      Cheryl Marie -You are welcome. Good looking chocolates can make anyone’s day better.

Trackbacks

  1. Photo Friday – Carousel fun in Bryant Square NYC « CAFFEINATED TRAVELLER
  2. Goodness is a piece of Haute Chocolat « the Caffeinated Traveller

Comments are closed.