Skip to content

Photo Friday – Carousel fun in Bryant Square NYC

June 26, 2009

Around Bryant Square in NYC there are besides the yummy chocolatier Lily O’Briens, other special places to indulge your childhood fantasies. Centred in the square is a  tree-lined park filled with families, couples, readers, talkers, and children enjoying the late afternoon weather.

Keeping children entertained is easy, the park has a whimiscal petite carousel–for children to enjoy (big and small).

by Cate

by Cate

My recommendation: First grab something to eat and drink at the delectable deli next to Lily O’Briens then cross over the road to the park and enjoy the food. You can either watch the entertaining carousel or take the kids for a ride. When you’ve finished and need energy, head back across the road to the chocolatier and treat yourself to something sweet. If you are like me you would reverse the order and start with the sweet stuff first.

For more superb pictures and posts check out the Photo Friday @ Delicious Baby

Caffeinated Traveller

13 Comments
  1. June 26, 2009 7:05 pm

    Ah.. That’s a great tip for a day out with kids! The carousel looks so lovely. I can’t wait to plan my trip to NYC with my kids.

  2. June 26, 2009 7:07 pm

    What a beautiful carousel…my daughter would love that! We have to “ride the horsies” anytime we see a carousel!

  3. June 26, 2009 7:15 pm

    What a sweet little carousel, thanks for sharing it. I’d never have guessed it to be in NYC, very cool!

  4. June 26, 2009 9:28 pm

    The carousel looks surrealistic. Great shot!

  5. June 26, 2009 10:37 pm

    I love Bryant Park and monday’s free flicks and free ice skating. Its one of the gifts of NYC!
    Photo Friday – Manaul Antonio-Costa Rica’s Gem

  6. June 27, 2009 1:26 am

    It is a cute carousel, perfect for the tiny tots. I love the magical element in the design, I wish I’d hung around longer, when I was leaving a wedding party got on the carousel for photos. They all looked terrific in white and deep purple colours.I will go back to this park again when next in NY. The free flicks and ice-skating sounds like fun as well.

  7. Carolina permalink
    June 26, 2009 9:44 pm

    Seriously, I love this blog. I always revolve my travels around food, so I love to read about where to get the good stuff and get some sightseeing activities in at the same time.

  8. June 27, 2009 3:22 am

    Oh, that IS a beauty. Really great shot of it too!
    : )

    • June 27, 2009 4:21 pm

      Thanks jackie and Carolina, I’m glad you both enjoyed the post. If anyone makes it to this park can you let me know how the carousel is looking these days.
      Cheers Cate.

  9. June 28, 2009 10:46 am

    Great carousel! I love taking pictures of carousels, and I especially like finding one off-season where I can take as many close-ups of the animals as I like without worrying about them moving 🙂

  10. June 29, 2009 12:33 pm

    I feel fortunate to have found your blog, the title resonates! I gave up trying to give up caffeine, now I just embrace it. I’m mesmerized by the colors on the carosel, beautiful photograph!

    • June 29, 2009 8:53 pm

      Lorraine – it must have been difficult to gice up the caffeine. Kind of like trying to give up on all things gos (well at least that’s how I see it). Welcome to my blog, I hope you will be back.

Comments are closed.