Skip to content

Photo Friday – Nature’s colours at Delray Beach

July 3, 2009

Spending time in southern Florida during the hot summer months means frequent visits to the cooling ocean waters or swimming pools. It isn’t a good time to wander around parks or gardens, in fact in this part of Florida, there are very few botanical gardens to walk around in.

Last Sunday I did discover a couple of gardens in Delray Beach — Morikami’s Japanese Gardens which I’ll write about Monday 6th July, and a haven for orchids and their lovers at the American Orchid Society’s gardens. I remember as a child my mother would always take me along with my loud siblings to the local rose gardens. She adored roses and the hot-house begonias that grew there. There were never any orchids on show because in the deep cold south of New Zealand, the orchids never survived — I would like to say that I enjoyed these trips to the gardens, but after the fifth visits, they dulled.

Here in sunny tropical Florida, gardens are a novelty to me. Orchids are abundant, thriving in the heat and humidity, resplendent in vibrant hues.

by Cate

by Cate

Large and small, all living together in a warm, controlled environment.

by Cate

by Cate

There are other plants and flowers also worth seeing. Boardwalks, tiled and gravel paths, entice you to explore the plantings or just seek out some shade.

by Cate

by Cate

My favourites tend to be plants with character — lines, textures, woody or striped.

by Cate

by Cate

The American Orchid Society gardens is a quiet break from the noisy beaches. I couldn’t tell you if it’s a place for kids, not because of the lack of entertainment features, but if chidlren are like me when I was young, they could end up bored. For budding ecologists, botanists, naturalists and florists, this would be a perfect place.

For more great photos and writing check out the talented bloggers posting @ Delicious Baby

Caffeinated Traveller

13 Comments
  1. July 3, 2009 8:55 am

    I am a garden nut so I would love to explore this beautiful spot. Orchids are so striking and exotic to me. Thanks for sharing this. Enjoy your time in Florida.

  2. July 3, 2009 9:18 am

    Beautiful shots! A great way to start the day!

  3. July 3, 2009 11:06 am

    Really beautiful orchids! The top photo is just splendid with all that detail.

  4. Bear permalink
    July 3, 2009 3:15 pm

    The American Orchid Society — what a great find 🙂 Also in Florida, near Copeland in the southwestern portion of Florida, is the Fakahatchee Strand State Preserve. In there they have an unlumbered portion of Cypress trees — since these trees have been undisturbed for around a century they are a perfect habitat for native orchids. A section of this is so plentiful with natural orchids (several species) it has the nickname of “Orchid Cathedral”, as you quite often have to look up twenty fifty feet above you head into the towering canopy.

    I am unsure if Hurricane Charlie, which blew through a few years ago or so, affected these plants but a quick web sitre look up would provide the needed contact information 🙂

  5. Carolina permalink
    July 3, 2009 4:49 pm

    You know I never thought my son would like gardens, but he does. That may all change when he gets older though.
    Beautiful shots.

  6. July 3, 2009 5:52 pm

    Oh! You brought me back to my stomping ground. I used to live and work in that area for almost 10 years but shame on me I have never been to that garden. It’s a beautiful garden for sure.

  7. July 3, 2009 5:58 pm

    The composition of the ‘plants with character’ photograph is eye-popping! Wonderful captures!

  8. July 3, 2009 11:40 pm

    Very nice macro work. The first and the last are really fabulous.

  9. July 4, 2009 10:22 am

    Your last one shows some wonder from the ordinariness. A very good try.

  10. July 4, 2009 11:21 am

    I’m not much for the Florida beach scene (unless it involves a long walk shelling along a deserted beach), but I do love the animals and flowers there. This looks like a great off-the-beaten-path destination in the state.

    It’s been years, but one of the best memories I have of visiting my parents near Naples, FL was visiting the Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary (your boardwalk photo reminded me of that trip) http://www.corkscrew.audubon.org/

  11. July 4, 2009 7:08 pm

    Hi everyone, thanks for the lovely comments and tips. Dominqiue the Corkscrew Sanctuary is now on my list, thanks for the link.

    Bear – am not very familiar about the Hurricane history of this region, thanks for the usual good information including the orchid species.

    Enjoy your Holiday weekend if you are residing in the US, otehrwise have a relaxing weekend.
    Cate

  12. July 7, 2009 10:09 am

    Beautiful pictures. My son and daughter would love the different colors of the flowers. The walkways are beautiful!

    • July 7, 2009 3:53 pm

      The walkways were nicely done and a little cool. There is also a nice big tiki style hut to lounge around under, but no cocktail bar ;p

Comments are closed.