Skip to content

Chicago – BlogHer, sightseeing and coffee!!!

July 24, 2009
tags: ,

I have to apologise to my readers for being a little sporadic with this week’s posts.  I’ve been out of contact and here’s why: BlogHer 09.

by Cate

by Cate

BlogHer is holding its annual convention/conference today 23rd and tomorrow 24th, in Chicago and I’m right in the middle of it, with scores of other talented blog-hers.

After a couple of days travelling, then onto a fun evening watching a radio show being taped live – “Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me!” the new day has begun with a full blogging schedule and little time to actually blog.

Come Sunday I’ll be free to explore this city packed with art, architecture and friendly people. Plus there is coffee!!! All going well I should be back on schedule next week with some good posts on Chicago.

Caffeinated Traveller

6 Comments
  1. July 25, 2009 2:09 am

    I’ve heard Chicago has interesting architecture on its streets. Will look to seeing pictures from your explorations of the city.

  2. July 25, 2009 6:38 am

    It is new to me, BlogHer, would like to hear more if possible, if you don’t mind.

  3. July 25, 2009 1:02 pm

    Hi Cate – Hope you are having a “grande” or “venti” time in Chicago or as they call it “shy-town”…if you ask, please pass along why they call it that.

    Been there twice. Top 3 sites for me: The buildings along the river are a favorite, riding the elevated train to the Southside (great for black/white photos) and any of their museums.

  4. July 26, 2009 7:38 pm

    Chicago is one of my favorites! ~Really wishing I could have made it to BlogHer; sounds like a wonderful time (love that NPR radio show!).
    ~Hope you have time for an architectural boat tour and a bike ride along the lake shore (you can ride to the Lincoln Park Zoo). If not, all the reason for a return visit to the Windy City!

  5. July 28, 2009 8:39 pm

    Anil, Rainfield, Sharon and Heather, I can see why people love Chicago, it has some photogenic buildings and streets and what makes it even better is the friendly people. I actually think it is better than New York as far as cities go even if it is windy.
    Sharon haven’t heard “shy-town” before and didn’t catch your comment till after leaving Chicago. Care to share with us all?

  6. August 14, 2009 11:35 am

    Hi Cate and all!
    I LOVE Chicago! I have lived there for 10 years now.
    I grew up near NYC and think Chicago takes the cake, hands down!
    It is a big city with all the big city trimmings: Architecture, culture, theater, museums, great restaurants, good coffee (!), etc., but still has a friendly, smaller city vibe up in all the neighborhoods.
    Oh…and it’s called Chi-town for obvious reasons. It’s just pronounced ‘shy-town’ !
    🙂
    Lisa
    http://www.llworldtour.com

Comments are closed.