Skip to content

Photo Friday in Malaysia – Would you like a view with your tea?

August 7, 2009

Some folks come for the tea, others come to bask in the sun, and others come just to soak in the view — and what a view.

Malaysia’s Cameron Highlands, a photogenic spot, and when you tire of taking pictures just wander through the tea plantations and try some of the locally produced brews.

Where would my ideal home be? Right in the heart of this tea plantation.

To find out more about Malaysia’s tea plantations, here is a post I wrote back in February 09: High Tea Redefined. Head on over to Deb @ Delicious Baby for more Photo Friday posts

Caffeinated Traveller

21 Comments
  1. August 7, 2009 12:49 pm

    Mexico has one of the best coffee and chocolate in the world
    you should try

    thanks!

  2. August 7, 2009 2:38 pm

    I’d love a view with my tea! That place looks so blissful – with wall-to-wall windows and a beautiful view of the tea plantation. I bet it’s really nice to enjoy a cup of tea there early in the morning.

    By the way, no one inspires me to travel to the Cameron Highlands as much as you do. So thanks!

  3. August 7, 2009 4:20 pm

    This looks like one of the most peaceful places on earth. Thanks for sharing it! I think I’ll go have some tea.

  4. August 7, 2009 5:05 pm

    Ooh! That looks wonderful – and that’s without even considering that I’m very partial to a good cuppa 🙂
    Thanks for sharing.

  5. Carolina permalink
    August 7, 2009 5:52 pm

    I think I was British in my past life, because I love tea time. Great shot of tea house.

  6. August 7, 2009 6:31 pm

    This was one of the areas we had to skip in our travels through Malaysia last November (we focused more on Borneo and didn’t spend a ton of time on the Peninsula). After seeing these pics I think we’ll need to go back! 🙂

  7. August 8, 2009 2:36 am

    Gorgeous photo! Looks like a wonderful place to spend time drinking tea and just … being.

  8. August 8, 2009 6:39 am

    You have been to so many countries, my dear. Camera Highlands is historical and beautiful.

  9. August 8, 2009 10:49 am

    This place is for me. I’m a tea addict. and funnily enough, have never ever been on a tea plantation, maybe becasue I’m surrounded by coffee plantations:)

  10. August 8, 2009 11:20 am

    Now there is a teahouse worth a visit. The view is spectacular.

  11. August 8, 2009 11:39 am

    So lush and green, just the place to sit with a nice cup of tea.

  12. August 8, 2009 5:23 pm

    Erica – hey thanks, I’m a little partial to the place, not sure why, guess it’s just easy to travel around there. Hope you can make it there one day (soon).

    Sonia – you will have to make a second trip back like I had to. It’s worth it

    Marina – I would love to be around coffee, but there is something special about being around tea. It reminds me of olden times. Call it the romantic in me 🙂

    Everyone – I had this craving for tea as soon as I entered the plantations and it didn’t stop until I actually left the Highlands four days later. And I’m more of a coffee drinker. I guess the area just looked drinkable.
    Thanks for your comments and enjoy the reminder of the weekend. Have a cuppa for me.

  13. August 9, 2009 9:32 am

    Wonderful architecture; all those windows let one just float amidst that beautiful countryside.

    • August 10, 2009 2:44 pm

      You’re right Heather, if I remember I think this building overhangs from the hilltop which gives you that floating perspective. Loved it though.

  14. August 11, 2009 10:14 am

    Wow! I can see myself sipping an ice tea (my drink of choice…even in the coldest part of the winter) and lingering in this place.

    • August 11, 2009 3:05 pm

      It is a gorgeous spot isn’t it and perfect for iced tea.

  15. August 12, 2009 5:31 pm

    Wow, What a fascinating place Malaysia i love to visit Malaysia.

  16. August 12, 2009 10:09 pm

    I missed the Cameron Highlands when I went to Malaysia. Maybe next time. Thanks for sharing your photos! Love the new look of your site!

  17. Bird permalink
    March 6, 2010 10:24 am

    I can’t speak English. I come form Thailand. Last year2009 I went to here.That looks wonderful

  18. May 2, 2010 5:40 pm

    Hi Cate!
    I’m a Malaysian. I went to Cameron Highlands last December and although I’m a Malaysian, that was the first time I visited the tea house. Indeed as you said, I love the place. Sipping hot tea in a clod temperature with the breeze of fresh air. Hah! I think I’m going to go there again 🙂

    By the way, any of the visitors of this blog who wish to go to Cameron Highlands can see the photos of the tea plantation area in my facebook album:
    http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2050370&id=1203437151&l=ff99e7f271

Trackbacks

  1. Best of the Web – Roaming Tales: Travel links for 17 August | Roaming Tales

Comments are closed.