Skip to content

Photo Friday – Historic ruins and locals, never shall they part

August 14, 2009

Being from New Zealand I don’t get to explore ancient monuments, temples and sacred sites until I travel. Yes New Zealand does have some historic sites (mounds, pits and forts) from early Maori settlements, but the reality is these just don’t have the years on them compared with those from ancient civilisations like Cambodia’s Khmer.

I’m one for walking around old temples dreaming of how emperors from yesteryear once lived and monasteries once practised. But what interests and amuses me more is how these magnificent structures have not only lasted through times nasty tricks, but continue to attract people who live around the area. There always seems to be someone hanging around: chatting, watching tourists rambling by or quietly dozing off in a secret corner.People doing very little unless there is a sale to be made.

by Cate

by Cate

While some tourists are busy dressing up in national costume for a souvenir photo, local-life goes on. Fish must be caught, prayers must be made, and water must be collected.

by Cate

by Cate

And babies must get their beauty sleep.

by Cate

by Cate

Pretty certain this baby was breathing when I snapped the picture. Travel on over to the group @ Delicious Baby for more stories and photos.

Caffeinated Traveller

19 Comments
  1. August 14, 2009 1:22 pm

    Great pictures!!! I love how you capture the sense of history with the peek in the current lives.

    • August 14, 2009 2:19 pm

      Thanks Amy your comments are always a pleasure to read, very insightful. Will head over to your sight soon once I figure out what is wrong with my sensitive internet connection.

      Cate

  2. August 14, 2009 3:21 pm

    Wow, fantastic photos! Cambodia is not a destination I have thought of for my dream traveling, but I’m thinking I should re-think that!

  3. August 14, 2009 5:36 pm

    Great post and fantastic pics. Cambodia was already on my wishlist, but it’s definitely moving closer to the top!

  4. August 14, 2009 11:24 pm

    One of my favorite places to visit. Well said … and great photos, as always!

  5. August 14, 2009 11:37 pm

    I love ruins! Antigua has ruins all over the place, but you can’t just enjoy them, they are closed off and you have to pay to enter.

    Love the new look of your site!

  6. August 15, 2009 2:58 am

    To tell history in pictures is very much different from saying in words. I can feel the traces of time, winds, rains, sun etc.

  7. August 15, 2009 11:23 am

    Lora, Travel with kids, Trent, Marina and rainfield – thanks for all your comments and extra tid bits.

    Marina, you do have to pay a fee to see Cambodia’s temples which I think is on the pricy side, but worth it when you get to walk around places like Angkor.

  8. August 15, 2009 6:59 pm

    What’s amazing to me about these photos is the amount of texture in them – it’s quite a backdrop for people going about their ordinary lives.

  9. August 15, 2009 7:59 pm

    I love that last photo of the baby crashed out in the cool shade of the ruins…wouldn’t we all like to do that!

  10. August 16, 2009 10:01 am

    Love that middle photo where life just goes on. You’ve got these amazing ancient ruins and then someone just going about their day.

    • August 16, 2009 12:40 pm

      Wanderluster, Kymri and Mara – this is what interests me these old ruins something I just don’t see back home, and people going about their day oblivious to them. Life goes on I guess. Thanks for your comments.

  11. August 16, 2009 7:04 pm

    Being from the U.S., it’s pretty much the same when it comes to the relative age of buildings and sites here compared to other parts of the world. Here in the Midwest, we have even fewer accessible sites with any real age or history behind them…a few mounds in Ohio, a few pictographs in Michigan’s Thumb pop into mind…so we’re even fascinated by the buildings and graveyards from the 1700s we saw when traveling in the eastern states.
    Thanks for sharing this glimpse into another world 🙂

  12. August 18, 2009 9:20 am

    That last photo is one any parent will relate to. Great context in your commentary, Cate.

  13. August 18, 2009 3:55 pm

    Awww…I love that shot of the sleeping child in the temple ruins 🙂 There’s something so magical about it. Sort of like a new life, old life juxtaposition.

  14. August 20, 2009 5:41 am

    The picture of the sleeping kid is fantastic! I laughed when I read, “Pretty certain this baby was breathing when I snapped the picture” because it’s a scene I remember from growing up in Singapore. I had neighbour children friends who slept just like this, well, actually on a hard plank of wood, no pillows whatsoever, and they looked perfectly comfortable doing that! It always blew me away, thinking about it even back then because I always had pillows and a mattress. I couldn’t figure out if it was culture (i.e. hard wood is good for the posture) or economy that made it so that my parents padded us with pillows, and my neighbours didn’t have any cushioning of any sort.

    Cheryl

  15. August 21, 2009 10:40 am

    Nice stories here everyone, I always enjoy the stories you all tell, funny how pictures can take us on a journey to our past or prompt us to remember something. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  16. neilsharp permalink
    May 1, 2010 4:49 pm

    fascinating find in the travel blogs-how great is this to be sitting in your room and go to all parts of the world while remaining in one spot. nice for us older folk who will never go there except in our minds!

    • May 1, 2010 5:29 pm

      Hi Neil, you are very welcome! That is what I hoped my blog would be do, take you places without leaving your living room.

Comments are closed.