Skip to content

When travel becomes a must

August 21, 2009

Some travels are not created equal. There are those fun loving trips of adventure and discovery, those with a business objective and there is travel because you must — expiring visas,  family emergencies. You may remember my post last week about my pending visa status which has now been placed “on hold”. I’ve left the US for now until part one of my resident visa is approved. This could take two weeks or six months who knows.

Its been a week of umming and ahhing on when I’ll be able to return to the US, feeling tired and achy as a result of a vaccination shot, and figuring out a budget to survive on. When  travel becomes a must, the joy can be drained from it and replaced by drudge.

For now I’m in Panama enjoying a new culture and continent. I’ll be moving up to the mountains in about ten days to bask among the coffee trees and beans, and sip on some of the best of the Central American blends, then onto Costa Rica and who knows possibly Nicaragua. It all depends on time.

Keep following, my posts may end up sporadic depending on internet access. If I’m not posting I”ll be tweeting like everyone else.

Twitter ID: catekiwi

 Cate

12 Comments
  1. August 21, 2009 9:16 am

    I’ve no doubt you’ll make the most of your unfortunate visa situation and find much to enjoy (and share!) in Panama. ~Hope the approval process is resolved soon!

    • August 22, 2009 9:29 am

      Thanks Heather for the wishes 🙂

  2. August 21, 2009 10:39 am

    Panama –> the mountains –> the coffee trees and beans –> Costa Rica and –> Nicaragua, so tempting but tiring.

    • August 22, 2009 9:28 am

      Tiring Rainfield? Maybe a little and endurance is needed. You could do this trip because you are always climbing and hiking 🙂

  3. Bear permalink
    August 22, 2009 7:32 am

    I admire your pluck. Enjoy the seacoast and the mountains 🙂

    • August 22, 2009 9:27 am

      Thanks for the wishes Bear.

  4. Freedom Quest Globalog permalink
    August 22, 2009 10:17 am

    From one Kiwi to another. Have fun. You ever make it as far as Honduras look us up. You have trouble in Nicaragua let me know also I have friends all through central America.. I’m also on Blog. http://www.freedomquestglobal.wordpress.com

  5. August 23, 2009 4:00 pm

    Good luck with the US bureaucracy! but until then, enjoy beautiful panama…you could be in worse places!

  6. August 24, 2009 4:35 pm

    I’ve never actually thought of traveling as a must, and I feel lucky for not having had to go through something similar.

    Hope the situation works out for the best sooner rather than later.

    By the way, I really like the new look of your site!

    • August 26, 2009 7:05 pm

      Cheers Erica, a facelift was long overdue.

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for When travel becomes a must « the Caffeinated Traveller [caffeinatedtraveller.com] on Topsy.com

Comments are closed.