Skip to content

Vulcan’s mark on Costa Rica — raw and active

September 17, 2009

Sitting on a white sandy beach or wandering through a lush rainforest keeps my attention for about an hour. Then boredom slowly creeps in. It’s not because I’ve been inflicted with attention deficit problems nor claim to be an urbanite. Even New Zealand’s bucolic scenes don’t entice as much as they could.

Oversaturated with all things pretty and tranquil I’ve begun to avoid white beaches searching for grey volcanic sands and rugged coastlines, exchanging snow-peaked mountains for bursts of steam and smoke.

Perhaps in secret, I aspire to be a vulcanologist. I can stand for hours watching and smelling geothermal activity, or admire Vulcan’s peaks from afar quietly wishing for signs of his wrath and fury.

by Cate

by Cate

Here lies Costa Rica’s beauty not in the carefully packaged forms of rainforests, beaches and tropical wonders, but in lava, steam and cones.

by Cate

by Cate

Knowing that the earth is still developing and reshaping itself can be discomforting but it brings about a new sense of respect from this raw active environment. Respect for its ability to create  new life  so I can enjoy the bounty.

by Cate

by Cate

Of course this tranquil crater lake is lifeless  — for the time being.

Caffeinated Traveller

4 Comments
  1. September 17, 2009 10:25 pm

    Those are amazing pictures! Costa Rica is definitely on my wishlist.

    • September 18, 2009 10:36 am

      Thanks! If you like animals and I think E does as well, then La Pas Waterfall park outside Costa Rica’s San Jose city, is the perfect spot. No elephants though. Lots of birds, monkeys, snakes etc.

  2. September 18, 2009 10:46 am

    Your experience is so good to be shared. I can imagine the scenic and lively Vulcan’s Peak in my brain theater.

  3. September 21, 2009 5:10 pm

    I think your imagination is wonderful Rainfield. Plus you are someone who enjoys crafting stories as well so it’s easy for you.

Comments are closed.