Skip to content

Photo Friday – Colour and then some

October 2, 2009

One of the biggest differences I’ve noticed between Asia and Latin America, so far, has nothing to do with facial features and language but has everything to with colour. How it’s used, how boldly it’s used and for what purposes. Housing for instance, in Asia tends to be bland, earthy, whites, off white, cream, pastels or just plain grey. But in Panama it was very different. Bright hues of orange, yellow, green and blue. Sometimes these colours dazzled but other times they took an artistic form.

by Cate

by Cate

Clothing also reflects the differences between cultures.Latin Americans (women especially) wear fabrics that are bright, patterns that are bold; and cleavage that is low low low — I must have been the only on with my earthy Asian tones and no cleavage.

by Cate

by Cate

The tropics are wonderful places to rediscover nature’s colour spectrum. even flowers don’t hide themselves.

by Cate

by Cate

For more fun photo Friday click here @ Delicious Baby

Caffeinated Traveller

18 Comments
  1. October 2, 2009 3:08 pm

    Great, vibrant pics and interesting observations on the cultural differences regarding color.

  2. October 2, 2009 5:05 pm

    Gorgeous shots, one and all. I love pictures of doors. They’re one of my favorite things to photograph. Wonderful colors.

  3. October 2, 2009 5:25 pm

    Beautiful colours – bright colours look best when the sun’s shining. Love that shade of blue on the houses.

  4. October 2, 2009 7:07 pm

    I love all the color. It makes life that much more interesting.

  5. October 2, 2009 8:11 pm

    Great photos! I love the shot of the door, it’s got so much character.

  6. October 2, 2009 10:27 pm

    This is a really lovely post. The photos are really captivating and I love the middle one with the fabrics.

    Funny about the cleavage, too. I tend to dress conservatively when I travel and there’s no need for that in Latin America! I always feel so boyish!

  7. October 2, 2009 11:33 pm

    As always, your pictures are gorgeous!

  8. October 3, 2009 1:31 pm

    I feel like I can reach out and peel off the paint on that door. So many textures. I’m not much of a photographer, but I must say these shots make you want to go and experiment with settings like ‘macro’.

  9. October 4, 2009 11:39 am

    Thanks everyone for your comments! The house certainly has character.

    Glennia – doors, windows, stairs, feet, shoes and for some reason backs of heads, are all my fav kinds of images.

    Wanderluster – I’m the same always feel like a boy or worse – a prude.

    Lorraine – I’m looking at macro lenses this week!

    Happy weekend everyone 🙂

    Cate

  10. October 4, 2009 4:55 pm

    Unless of course you visit Goa, and of course Rajasthan 🙂

    Having said that what you say might well be the case elsewhere in Asia. Is all of Latin America equally colourful?

  11. October 4, 2009 11:07 pm

    Taking photos of old, battered buildings is endlessly fascinating to me. The colors in your top image make the building even more interesting.

  12. October 5, 2009 10:11 am

    Anil – absolutely!! One of my big mistakes in referencing Asia is forgetting India is part of it. To me the country is so unique it deserves a place on its own. But no India is right up there with colour and lots of it. Singapore’s Little India as well. Thanks for pointing it out. As for the rest of Latin America, I guess not everplace is colourful but pretty much most countries are – Peru, Bolivia and their Indigenous peoples, Argentina and it’s buildings, Colombia and it’s Cartegena.

    Dominique – thanks for your comment. I’ll have to post more images of the old battered pasts of Panama City for you.

  13. October 7, 2009 11:09 am

    I love these photos, they look beautiful! The colours just look amazing together. Im new to all of this so i guess have a look at my blog http://love-turkey.blogspot.com/ thankss 🙂

    • October 7, 2009 4:47 pm

      Hi Keen Traveller and welcome.Thanks for your comment. Like your blog on Turkey as well. It’s packed with information.

  14. October 8, 2009 3:56 am

    Wow, I love the shade of the wall. Deep blue green– I’d like that shade in my bedroom walls. -X

    • October 8, 2009 3:19 pm

      X – Hi! it is a great blue. I was thinking how it good it would look on a piece of furniture, not sure what though.

  15. October 8, 2009 3:32 pm

    great post! and in fact the very topic of conversation in my “Color as Communications in Marketing and Art Class” today 🙂 . . . Color can have so many meanings. . . I read in “New Mexico: a guide for the eyes” that a blue door in that culture is to ward off evil spirits. . . Speaking of which, I should get back to work on my midterm project for that class – trying to use my own travel photos…

    anne

    p.s. thanks for your nice words today! i swear there’s something about living in paris that makes me a better writer.

    • October 8, 2009 5:29 pm

      Anne – good to hear from you again! Paris probably inspires you to be more creative than Baltimore does. I aways get inspired with history and colours, Florida doesn’t inspire me in that way but Chicago does. I hope you will do a small post on your mid-term project, it sounds exciting.

Comments are closed.