Skip to content

Take time out to watch the leaves turn

October 8, 2009

I’ve both heard and used the popular quotes “take time out to smell the flowers” and “take time out to smell the coffee” but this one is just that much better:

Everyone should take time to sit and watch the leaves turn.

Elisabeth Lawrence

My autumn used to begin with March and end with May. Call me upside down, but seasons in the southern hemisphere are polar to the northern hemisphere. I call myself an autumn baby because I adore everything about this season: the sun’s angle, the blue of the sky, floral colours, and the temperate coolness.

Since I’ve come to Florida there have been no cool temperatures, changes in colours nor turning of the leaves. There is no autumn as such. Only an inner feeling that it’s time to say good-bye to summer for another year.

But I can still sit and watch the leaves turn, even if the leaves did come from another time, another country — and another camera.

 

by Cate

by Cate

by Cate

by Cate

 Point and shoot cameras may not sharpen the image as DSLR cameras do, but they can still capture the turn in the season.

by Cate

by Cate

 

Quietly pining for a cooler climate…..

This post is part of photo Friday. For more good photos and chats head over to Delicious Baby

Caffeinated Traveller

16 Comments
  1. October 8, 2009 7:12 pm

    I totally understand…I am in Florida as well and today we spent the afternoon at the splash pad. Sheesh…it was 95 degrees!

  2. October 9, 2009 2:23 am

    Wow, those are amazing! Autumn was always my favourite season living in the US– though when I lived in LA, I had to settle with a faint changing of leaves and a subtle cooling of temperature. Now that I’ve been living out of the country (either in the Southern hemisphere or the tropics) for the past four years, I’ve really missed autumn… Thanks for sending me a little glimpse of it! -X

  3. October 9, 2009 9:22 am

    The coloured autumn is sensational. I always try to imagine from where I am staying, a tropical country.

  4. October 9, 2009 10:05 am

    Jen – I was in that 95 degree heat. What is that all about??

    X and rainfield – It’s either wet or dry with the tropics isn’t it? Glad you both enjoyed the colours, how about coming over for an autumn holiday?

  5. October 9, 2009 10:40 am

    Beautiful pictures! That’s one thing I was so excited about when we moved from FL to Atlanta. 🙂 The real experience with Fall color.

  6. October 9, 2009 10:48 am

    We just moved to Texas, and I miss the Midwestern autumns.

    Beautiful pictures!

  7. October 9, 2009 2:43 pm

    Our colors here in Minnesota are beautiful right now. I’ll drink in a little extra for you!

  8. October 9, 2009 3:18 pm

    Those autumn colours are truly beautiful. I must say we don’t get much of an autumn either in Sardinia so I try to go to London a few times at this time of the year to take in the season change. I’ve always loved to go for long walks in London’s parks.

  9. October 9, 2009 4:12 pm

    Amy, Sarah, Linda and Maria think of me when your soaking in the cool autumn temps. And wearing something more than shorts and a tee shirt.

    Cate

  10. October 9, 2009 4:52 pm

    Ooh! What awesome photos!
    The leaves are just starting to turn here in Seattle.
    If I judge the seasons by the trees, we have a really short autumn and sometimes a very short spring too: the leaves are yellow/green today but if it starts raining heavily soon they’ll be washed off the trees before they really get to the orange-spectrum colors you show. And in the spring, cherry blossoms can last anything from a week to a month – but rarely longer.

  11. October 9, 2009 5:05 pm

    stunning pictures! I love autumn. I look forward to the kids being a little older so we can take a train up north (CA) to see real autumn happening. Here in the valley it seems more like a token seasonal change. You really captured the brilliance of fall. I needed that!

  12. October 9, 2009 6:14 pm

    Beautiful. We aren’t seeing much leaf changing here in Southern California either. I feel your pain.

  13. October 11, 2009 4:29 pm

    One thing I miss living in California is the seasons changing. Great photos with beautiful colors!

  14. October 11, 2009 5:25 pm

    I love autumn, too! We’re starting to get a few trees change, and I’m guessing we’ll be close to full color change next weekend in southern Michigan.

  15. October 12, 2009 12:28 pm

    Thanks Ladies for your lovely comments. I guess you all just need a cold snap for those colours to start changing, and no rain of course. It’s nice for autumn to linger.

  16. October 12, 2009 6:40 pm

    The colours (esp photo #2) are stunning. Great photos.

Comments are closed.