Skip to content

Your cue for coffee – Café Que

October 19, 2009

I’m nearing the end of my Costa Rican and Panamanian coffee beans. It’s been fun while it’s lasted. The aroma of freshly ground beans, the smooth taste of Costa Rica’s Peaberry AA as it made its way down my throat. And, there was unfortunately, the shocking realisation of my addiction while crawling on the kitchen floor picking up fallen beans, salvaging the remains of quality.

So I thought for this week I would focus on coffee: a café set among the chaos of San Jose, and the possible demise of Costa Rican coffee (Wednesday’s post).

San Jose didn’t appeal to me when I first arrived at the beginning of  September. I’ve already posted on my impressions so I won’t dwell on it here. But I did discover were a handful of cafés arising from the fast-food infestation of downtown San Jose.

Café Que sits at a pedestrian crossroad in a busy shopping area full of discount stores and fast-food outlets. Lottery ticket vendors have claimed part of the café’s front, but there is enough seating inside to grab a coffee and watch life go by at a pace reminiscent of Asia.

by Cate

by Cate

The Café creates an illusion of coolness from its white interior, tiled floors and bared concrete beams, but adds a touch of class with black furnishings. Simple and understated, it aims to attract the business and professionals working around the area and the traveller who wants more than a burger and fries.

by Cate

by Cate

Café Que claims to offer French pastries, Italian ambience, New York rhythm and Costa Rica’s best beans but there are also Mexico’s finest dishes, sandwiches and shakes: the menu is varied.

As for me, it was mid morning and I was only in the mood for a café con leche — Costa Rican style.

by Cate

by Cate

Delicioso! Just watch out for the lightly chipped cup rims..

Prices are high compared with the typical Costa Rican diner, but the quality is there and it’s a place to go when you need to treat yourself to something tasty.

Location

Café Que is well situated on the corner of Avenida Central and Calle 2, close to Parque Central and the Post Office.


Caffeinated Traveller

7 Comments
  1. October 20, 2009 10:11 am

    Though I am not a caffeinatedtraveller, but I can feel the aroma once the cup of coffee prompts up in the computer screen.

  2. Bear permalink
    October 20, 2009 2:07 pm

    It looks and sounds like an inviting place to go … and away from tourists.

  3. October 21, 2009 10:43 am

    Nicely said rainfield 🙂

    Bear – there weren’t the usual number of tourists around here, they tended to hang out further down the mall that catered to them — hotels, shops and bars.

  4. October 23, 2009 11:15 am

    “…French pastries, Italian ambience, New York rhythm and Costa Rica’s best beans.” I like the sound of that! Also, I love the look of their logo. Cool, yet simple. I wonder why they’re named ‘Café Que’ though.

    • October 24, 2009 10:49 am

      I thought the same myself. You would enjoy the cafe names used in Japan, Korea and China, some of them make you laugh and others just puzzle you.

  5. October 31, 2009 7:01 am

    Thanks for the contibution!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Your cue for coffee – Cafè Que | trektorial

Comments are closed.