Skip to content

Revisiting favourite haunts and friends

November 5, 2009

It’s been a week of change – unexpected and secretly, expected. My travel plans to Panama have been reviewed and cancelled in lieu of a trip back home to New Zealand. The reasons are complicated but for those of you who have been following my green card visa process let’s just say I’m going back to New Zealand so I can return to the US as a resident — temporary status.

I left New Zealand seven years ago for Japan and then onto Korea. Of course I have been back home several times over the years and when I do return to New Zealand’s shores, I always revisit some of my old favourites: haunts, food, friends. It’s a way of touching base with my homeland even if the favourites change and evolve over time.

by Cate

The Pacific’s eastern shorelines of both islands are calmer than the western shores of the Tasman Sea, until a southerly storm blows up from Antarctica, which can occur anytime of the year. During summer the beaches and shorelines are great for long walks and discovering penguins and seals.

by Cate

Wellington City, small enough to walk around in a day, big enough to eat at a different place everyday, and windy enough to blow you off the sidewalk. When it blows in Wellington be prepared to cling to traffic lights so you don’t get blown away.

The cafe scene in New Zealand is big and homey. It’s almost like walking into your grandmother’s kitchen, that is if she were Italian who loved good old fashioned English cakes.  I love the sweet sour taste of a lemon slice …

by Cate

And sharing it with some of my old friends.

by Cate

by Cate

by Cate

Not forgetting the two-legged kind and family.

This is part of Photo Friday, for more posts check out Delicious Baby.

Caffeinated Traveller

19 Comments
  1. November 6, 2009 6:20 am

    What a beautiful city– I have a friend who is visiting New Zealand at the moment. Sounds like she’s enjoying it so far. I love how green Wellington City looks, and that Cable Car is quite sweet. -X

  2. November 6, 2009 8:12 am

    Some of your old friends, then you must have left them occasionally throught these seven years.

    Don’t know they ever recognise their old friend after all these years?

  3. November 6, 2009 9:21 am

    New Zealand is a lovely place to call “home”. ~Glad that your difficult visa circumstance has at least created an opportunity for a homecoming. Good luck, Cate!

  4. November 6, 2009 10:02 am

    The last three photos made me smile. (Not what I expected.)

    And I’m sure I’d enjoy the cafe scene in New Zealand. That lemon cake looks delicious!

  5. November 6, 2009 1:04 pm

    Xander – it’s a cute cable car isn’t it. Wellington is all about cute (but don’t tell the locals that).

    Rainfield – I think the animals remember me because I’m the only one who sneaks them treats. When they see me, they know.

    Heather – Thanks Heather, now I just have to find an inexpensive flight. The joys of travel.

    Erica – If you love sweet then you will like the lemon slice and all the other ones cafes sell. NZ is not a place to go to lose weight. And thanks for mention on your blog!

  6. November 6, 2009 1:34 pm

    there’s nothing like going home again. lovely photos!

  7. November 6, 2009 1:53 pm

    Ah, that cake looks good…

  8. Bear permalink
    November 6, 2009 4:48 pm

    Your friends were at the table with you and your lemon slice weren’t they — they sure look like they are eying something tasty 🙂

  9. motherofalltrips permalink
    November 6, 2009 5:00 pm

    I especially love that first picture – what a beautiful beach.

  10. November 6, 2009 5:06 pm

    Thanks everyone for the comments. Food is not usually my forte but I’m partial to a slice of something decadent now and then.

    Bear – yes they were eyeing up the slice waiting. I love animals they exhibit such patience.

    Mara – it’s a beach on the east coast of the North Island around the Wairarapa, popular with New Zealanders and seldom explored by tourists.

    Cate

  11. November 6, 2009 5:06 pm

    I love traveling and living in different countries, but there is nothing like going back home, even if it’s for a few days.

  12. November 6, 2009 10:01 pm

    New Zealand is on my dream list for a while. What a beautiful beach!

  13. Carolina permalink
    November 6, 2009 10:33 pm

    You had me at lemon cake.

  14. November 7, 2009 3:34 pm

    The four legged friends must be happy.

    I’m curious to know what it is like to be back home after many travels elsewhere. I sometimes wonder if travelers such as those who embark on journeys or explorations for experiencing the world eventually begin to relate to their place of origin or where they grew up very differently from say someone returning home from a work break, or in the vacations between semesters at college.

  15. November 7, 2009 3:53 pm

    I was in Panama this summer. Is a great place with a great cuisine.

  16. November 8, 2009 11:08 am

    New Zealand is somewhere I’ve always wanted to visit. Thanks for the look at your home there 🙂

  17. November 9, 2009 2:30 am

    What a delight to know this is where you are from! We had an opportunity last year to visit New Zealand for two weeks over the holidays – and it was just completely superb! Here is a post with some of my impressions that Amie put up on Ciao Bambino: http://bit.ly/1pjAhb . My house is filled with framed photographs from our time spent there. Although I can’t call NZ my ‘home’, it certainly makes my home look better with it’s beauty on my walls!

  18. November 9, 2009 12:11 pm

    Anil – I used to think that when I returned home people and life was still the same, nothing changed. But I’ve changed my views the longer I live overseas. People grow older and it gets scarier with each visit I make: parents age, children grow up and you miss out on their lives. Much of NZ doesn’t change scenery wise unless it happens to be in a tourist spot. Change for NZ isn’t as dramatic as countries like India, China more subtle I guess. Your thoughts have given me some ideas on what I can write about when I go home.

    Lorraine – thanks for the link. Two weeks may have been a short time but the impressions are long lasting –that is true travel.

    Thanks again everyone for your comments.
    Cate

Trackbacks

  1. Recent Reads: Folie À Deux, – Travel Blissful | Travel Blissful

Comments are closed.