Skip to content

Malaysia is a 2010 destination

November 13, 2009

So Lonely Planet says along with other places like El Salvador and New Zealand, Malaysia is one of the places to be seen, if you want to be seen, by fellow Lonely Planetites.

And if you don’t care? At least take a look at the capital city Kuala Lumpur starting with those famous twin towers — Petronas Towers.

by Cate

It’s a city of festivals both cultural and sport. Best time to go?? I went during the Hindu and Chinese festivals in February. It was busy busy busy but a lot of fun.

by Cate

Shopping comes in exclusive air-conditioned plazas and bustling street markets.

by Cate

The city is easy to get around on foot, by train or monorail. But if you want to get frustrated, take a taxi.

For more photo Friday stories check out Delicious Baby.

Caffeinated Traveller

20 Comments
  1. itsasmallworldafterallfamily permalink
    November 13, 2009 1:46 pm

    We are going to Malaysia in 2011, does that count? I’ve been once before and loved it, it’s such a beautiful country and the food…

  2. itsasmallworldafterallfamily permalink
    November 13, 2009 1:47 pm

    I meant to say, if you ever need any recommendations for coffee places in London, drop me a line and I’ll let you know where the best cups of coffee can be found!

  3. November 13, 2009 2:53 pm

    I went in October, during Diwali and it was very colorful!!
    to visit the Petronas Towers – I had to wake up really early to get a place in line! 😉

  4. November 13, 2009 4:12 pm

    I will have to add that to our side trip when we visit Thailand.

  5. November 13, 2009 5:23 pm

    I love reading about places I’d never really considered before. Looks lovely and full of hustle-and-bustle! Guess I have another place to add to my wishlist…

  6. November 13, 2009 6:05 pm

    Ohhhhh!!! You wrote about Malaysia. What it is kind of too short. Have you been to Penang, a lovely islnd? If no, then you surely missed the best part of Nalaysia.

  7. November 14, 2009 2:47 pm

    Its a small world – thanks for the offer of cafes, I’ll be heading that way in 10, and will most definitely be in contact. Oh and yes I think 2011 would be better to visit when it’s less crowded.

    Adrian – Diwali must have been neat to experience. Did you manage to visit the towers, I did’t too impatient with the cues.

    Amy – right next door to Thailand so flights shouldn’t be too expensive. You can opt for a bus or train but I’m not sure how comfortable it is with children.

    Sarah V -Too many places and not enough time. I suspect your wishlist is about the same length as mine.

    rainfield – I’m emailing you a link to some of my earlier posts I did on Malaysia in March 09. Let me know if my impressions were correct …or not.

    Thanks everyone enjoy your weekend.

  8. November 15, 2009 8:50 am

    Oh, I just left a comment on your guest post on Marina’s blog and it was about my trip to Malaysia.

    Here I come and see a post about it again. 🙂

    Recently I was in Malaysia and we had to climb 274 steps to see a cave. The steps are crazily steep and to give you company … hordes of monkeys !! Go figure.

    I am yet to write about this adventure. 😀

  9. November 15, 2009 12:14 pm

    Thanks for the virt tour!
    I liked the two-people-looking-at-the-two-towers shot.

  10. November 16, 2009 8:42 am

    I have only had one quick taste of Malaysia, on a short trip across the Thai border to Penang, but was definitely left wanting to try more. I doubt I’ll be making it back in 2010, but hopefully soon… -X

  11. November 16, 2009 10:53 am

    Nisha – I know the place you are talking about — Batu Caves. I wanted to go there during the Hindu festival along with a million devotees, but thought it might be a little crowded.

    Dominque – The park behind the towers is full of couples and families and tourists. Really nice spot to cool down and get away from the shopping crowd.

    X – Border hopping is a growing addiction of mine. I’ll have to venture back that way and come in through Thailand. Any problems with the crossing? I’ve heard mixed reviews about it.

  12. November 16, 2009 10:59 am

    Yes, that’s Batu caves and in Feb (time of Hindu festival), I heard you won’t get a place to even stand there.

    Border hopping is a problem? I would like to know more on that since I am planning of doing a Malaysia/Thailand and that too alone !

  13. November 16, 2009 7:15 pm

    I have wanted to visit Kuala Lumpur ever since I saw the Petronas Towers in the movie Entrapment. And, as I’ve said before, your posts makes me want to visit Malaysia.

    I especially like the second picture by the way. That boy looks so happy. A bit shy, but happy.

  14. November 17, 2009 11:21 am

    Erica – That movie must have boosted the numbers visiting Malaysia and the towers. Funny to think that only a few years ago the Petronas were the tallest towers in the world, now they rank in the top ten. How tall can they get? What’s the height of the tallest builidng in Sweden? I think in NZ the Sky Tower is the tallest in Australasia or South Pacific but I’ve no idea about the height of it.

    Yes that boy was actually very hot. It was a hot morning and he was dressed up in a costume, banging away at a drum with sweat pouring from him. He was so sweet to pause and let me take a few shots.

  15. November 17, 2009 12:34 pm

    I never realized there was so much green space beneath the Towers. Your photo gives me a whole new perspective.

  16. November 17, 2009 6:01 pm

    I’ve only been to KL, but I’m hoping to get to Langkawi in the future!

  17. November 17, 2009 8:36 pm

    Heather – there is a beautiful park just behind the towers and a delux hotel to the side. Inside the towers holds a mix of things including a nice shopping plaza.

    Jen – you and me both!! Langkawi is another one of those places to see. The list just keeps growing.

  18. Erica Johansson permalink
    November 22, 2009 5:34 pm

    Cate, The tallest building in Sweden? I know it’s Turning Torso in Malmö but I had to use Google to find out the actual height, 190.5m.

    Here’s a link to the tallest buildings in Sweden http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_tallest_buildings_in_Sweden

    • November 23, 2009 1:31 pm

      Thanks for the link Erica, the building has a nice design to it as well. must look striking on the horizon.

Comments are closed.