Skip to content

A subtle lesson from nature

November 27, 2009

I’m guilty of it myself, walking by a leaf reflecting sunlight or a butterfly pretending to sleep, while I scan for prettier things to gasp at.

It usually takes a new country to make me appreciate nature’s subtleties, when I should be enjoying them in my own backyard.

Costa Rica showed me earth that bubbled and steamed, and forests that lived in clouds. But the real beauty couldn’t be seen from a distance, I needed a macro lens to guide me through some of nature’s smaller performances.

Performance 1:  Captured water — Poor Mans Umbrella (it’s actual name).

by Cate

Performance 2: Movement of light.

by Cate

Performance 3: Underneath the leaf.

by Cate

Performance 4: Balance.

by Cate

Nature’s lesson was subtle, it was something I had learnt long ago but conveniently forgot it as I took on adulthood.

Thankfully it came back, now all I have to do is pratice what I’ve learnt.

Caffeinated Traveller

8 Comments
  1. November 29, 2009 8:01 am

    Wow. That third photo in particular is stunning.

  2. November 30, 2009 2:57 pm

    Thanks Abi, it’s an unusual looking butterfly, looks like it has a large eye.

  3. November 30, 2009 4:47 pm

    WOW. These pics are absolutely gorgeous! I agree, sometimes we just need to slow down and look around to find these beautiful gifts of nature!

  4. December 3, 2009 10:44 am

    Thanks Adriana!

  5. December 4, 2009 1:18 pm

    Such beautiful photos!
    Cheryl

  6. December 11, 2009 6:57 pm

    You lead an interesting life Cate! Thanks for sharing the gorgeous photos.

  7. March 21, 2010 1:31 pm

    We just got back from costa rica, it was awesome! A macro lens was definitely a must! We’ve posted a really detailed report trip with lots of photos if you want to check it out. Wasn’t the coffee amazing!
    All best,

    Aron

    • March 24, 2010 12:20 pm

      Aron – There is something special about tropical wonderlands like CR. Macros and tripods both required. Thanks for your comment.

Comments are closed.