Skip to content

It’s art darling!

December 18, 2009

One of the things I loved about Chicago were the sculptures are scattered, or should I say artfully, placed around the city centre. Famous works from Picasso and Miro stood among concrete and steel buildings as though they always belonged.

Wellington has its own collection which I must say, I don’t completely understand. But then again maybe I’m not meant to.

A collection of tall wooden poles standing like warrior spears reminiscent of Viking times.

by Cate

When I zoomed in, I still didn’t get it.

by Cate

And, there is New Zealand’s love for the silver fern. A national emblem found on sports teams and on spheres suspended up high.

by Cate

But, who said you had to understand everything. Art simply is art, open to interpretation. I just love the way anything can become art, from old railroad sleepers, to recycled pieces of steel and metal. The media and canvas can be anything.

by Cate

Every second year Wellington hosts the international arts festival where artisans, musicians, writers, composers scholars from all over the globe come to share and entertain locals and visitors. I hope I’ll be around to share in some of the festival activities in 2010 and revive some of my old creative juices.

For more creative posts check out Delicious Baby

Caffeinated Traveller

5 Comments
  1. Bear permalink
    December 18, 2009 9:51 am

    I have no talent for getting anything from most abstract art pieces. Perhaps that is why I very much like the sphere made of silver ferns — such a cool display 🙂

  2. December 20, 2009 7:36 pm

    Cool! I like it!

  3. December 21, 2009 9:13 pm

    Thanks Bear and Jen for your comments. Have a great festive season and New Year!!!

    Cate

  4. December 22, 2009 6:29 am

    The silver fern is gorgeous!

    Merry Christmas Cate, and a Happy New Year to you and family!

    Cheryl

  5. January 4, 2010 7:50 am

    I also love the silver fern, it looks so beautiful . I will add Chicago to my travel list.

Comments are closed.