Skip to content

Auckland Sky Tower – worth a visit?

March 7, 2010

When Auckland’s Sky Tower was built during the 1990’s, it didn’t receive the applause it longed for. Hundreds if not thousands of Aucklanders loathed the tower for its lack of beauty and eyesore ability on the city’s then, pristine skyline. Over the years impressions have changed and given way to forced acceptance. The Sky Tower in today’s Auckland boasts wonderful city views, fabulous restaurants, and has to be one of the places to visit when you are in Auckland.

But is the Sky Tower worth a visit or is it an overated piece of  concrete?

by Cate

Yes the tower offers wonderful views — on a clear day with no clouds, or summer haze. Otherwise forget it. The restaurants are worth indulging in if money isn’t a problem. I’ve been to the Observatory restaurant twice, and on both occasions enjoyed the evening lights, the food and getting confused with the revolving floor.

Perhaps one of the best ways to enjoy the Sky Tower experience is simply to throw yourself off the edge.

by Cate

Another way is to sit outside and watch the wild ones scream their lungs out while flying down a couple of wires at fast speeds.

There is a coffee cart (with seating) selling good muffins and coffee so you won’t get hungry while watching the jumpers. The coffee was really bad though, probably because the lady serving spent the entire time gossiping on her cell phone. Beware of baristas using cell phones while making coffee.

by Cate

My verdict on the Sky Tower? If you’re addicted to views  from the heavens and don’t mind paying for it, then visit the Sky Tower. If you’re stressed and want to jump off something, this place is for you. If you gamble and enjoy good food by all means visit this place. But if you answered no to all of the above — give the inside a miss and treat yourself to a delicious muffin instead.

by Cate

Caffeinated Traveller

13 Comments
  1. travelforaircraft permalink
    March 7, 2010 1:09 am

    Hi

    Many are fascinated by towers but I’m not one of them. Although I wouldn’t bungy jump, zipping down the wires looks interesting.

    But you got a poor cup of coffee in NZ? I didn’t think it possible :0

    Still, the muffin looked great … and I’d take that trade 😉

    Is Auckland easy to get around?

    Aloha,

    Joe

    Yes Joe Auckland is easy to get around — if you have a car. There are trains and buses but the best places for tourists are the beaches and generally you need a vehicle and local knowledge.

    Cate

  2. March 7, 2010 3:00 am

    I read this when I was at Macau Tower:

    Why live on the edge when you can jump off?

  3. March 7, 2010 7:08 pm

    I will take the muffin and leave both the tower and the wire-tripping..

  4. March 8, 2010 1:50 am

    Imagine being able to leap off the edge, and bounce back up while all the cares one nursed slip off and we return lighter in more ways than one.

    I haven’t seen a mobile Barista van around here though outlets abound.

  5. March 8, 2010 4:26 am

    I’m a bit allergic to overpriced tourist attractions but I do like a nice view – shame the coffee at the bottom was not great but the muffin looked nice – I think I’ll settle for that.

  6. March 8, 2010 11:02 am

    I’m a sucker for towers and views, I’m afraid, so I’d probably be enticed up the concrete and have the muffin when I got back down.

  7. March 8, 2010 1:17 pm

    As long as the sky is blue and I can enjoy the view (or fly down those wires), I wouldn’t hesitate to visit the Auckland Sky Tower. And I’d probably treat myself to that delicious looking muffin as well!

  8. March 8, 2010 4:36 pm

    Erica,Catherine, Heather, Abi
    I see the muffin is a popular option! This was one of the better tasting respberry muffins I had in a while.

    Anil – yes these carts are very popular and can be seen throughout NZ even in the rural towns.

    rainfield – the Macau Tower is pretty high isn’t it?

  9. March 9, 2010 10:45 pm

    On our final day in New Zealand we had a few extra hours and were wondering about the sky tower but didn’t get there. So I’m glad you wrote this, because the description and photos do a good job satisfying my curiosity.

  10. March 12, 2010 9:10 am

    So you can take the wires down all the way to the ground?? That looks pretty fun and somehow less scary than bungy jumping.

  11. March 13, 2010 6:32 pm

    Lorraine – you are very welcome!

    Anil – I wonder if it is less scary. You’re attached by one leg and your falling from something taller than a bungy bridge. But maybe it seems less scary since you’re not falling into a river or open space.

  12. May 20, 2010 4:36 pm

    Hi Cate,

    Thanks for posting this review — it’s always really interesting to hear what people are saying! I’m glad you enjoyed The Observatory!

    Just so you know, the Sky Jump is actually a full body harness. To quote the Sky Jump’s website, “SkyJump can be described as Base Jumping, while attached to a wire – just like a movie stuntman! You’ll fall very fast (approximately 85kph) for around 11 seconds, and then come to a very smooth landing in the Sky City plaza below.” It’s an exciting ride, but not quite so scary as being suspended by one foot!!

    Cheers,
    Saxon Deck
    SKYCITY Auckland

  13. June 14, 2010 8:36 pm

    If I had a dime for every time I came here… Great post!

Comments are closed.