Skip to content

Brew Urban Café : Fort Lauderdale’s good apple

July 2, 2010

Finding a decent caffeine fueled drink in Florida – minus Cuban style – has been something of a chore, but where there’s a will there’s a way or wait. I knew it wouldn’t take long before the bitter intoxicating aromas started wafting down south from northern coffee houses.

by Cate

It was love at first sight when I first walked into Brew Urban. Its size, relaxed style and vintage layout gave my coffee senses a much needed boost after months of slumber.

This place epitomises how small-scale cafés: small yet not too cramped, a few bench seats occupying a corner, lounge chairs at the front of the cafe circled around a vintage looking table, a wall side table for balance, a window side table for people watching; and a couple of bar stools thrown in for good taste. With thoughtful planning this cafe has kept crowds to a minimum meaning no noise pollution, people occupying all the tables for free wi-fi, and whatever annoyances commonly associated with large coffee chains.

by Cate

It’s a café which respects the art of coffee making. Whipped, soy, vanilla, caramel strawberry flavoured thingamee drinks don’t play well in this environment. These flavours will be found from within the coffee beans, enhanced by a fine grind and solid steam, but not in a plastic cup…

by Cate

I sat and listened to the musical notes merging from the ochre coloured espresso machine — a solo act played beautifully by the barista. The tune carried me back to my last time in a real café in New Zealand bringing with it a longing for familiarity. I have managed to supress this feeling since my return to Florida but for a short moment it raised its head.

If I had a wish list that ran true, I would wish to have a Brew Urban café move in right next door to me, or underneath my apartment. And there I would stay, happily buzzing away on caffeine, writing, reading, creating.

by Cate

Coffee beans are roasted by Intelligentsia, Brew Urban serves up a selection of espresso based drinks and teas as well as sweets, cakes but no actual meals. It’s a café afterall.

by Cate

Had to include this last shot, this man was funny.

Brew Urban is located in Old Fort Lauderdale 209 SW 2nd Street.

Caffeinated Traveller

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 Comments
  1. July 2, 2010 5:07 pm

    Great post, very informative. Keep up the good work, Thanks.

  2. July 4, 2010 12:49 am

    This looks like a very relaxed place. I love finding new coffee shops, and this post reminds me that I haven’t gone looking in quite awhile.

    • July 5, 2010 9:28 pm

      I’m sure there are some secrets tucked away in and around San Antonio, hope you find some and when you do let me know.

  3. July 5, 2010 9:39 pm

    I like it. Kind of a vacation spot in the midst of everyday life. The wall art is magnificent.

    • July 6, 2010 6:28 pm

      It is a gorgeous mural I agree!

  4. July 6, 2010 10:10 am

    Next time I’m down that way I’ll have to check this place out! It looks really relaxing and laid back.

    • July 6, 2010 6:29 pm

      Definitely worth a visit even for an iced tea or coffee.

Comments are closed.