Skip to content

Rich and dreamy meet Mr.Ganache

July 9, 2010

There is a certain expectation felt when meeting someone for the first time, particularly someone with a reputation. The initial moments of awkward silence and nervous chit chat, the silly laughs and eyelash fluttering, those hot cheeks of yours ruining the hard to achieve made up look of perfection…

This time my meeting was different. It didn’t begin well… a note left on the door informing me he would be back in five minutes, making me wait and doubt my reason for being there.

But instead of waiting and looking desperate, I decided to look around Mary Brickell Village, an upcoming if not already-made-it area in south Miami. It was Saturday and busy with Fourth of July visitors and locals enjoying the moment. Mary Brickell Village is packed with restaurants and boutiques surrounded by luxury apartments and construction. This area is where drivers of Mercedes and Lexus go to be seen, along with their Prada and Gucci handbags. But I wasn’t there to partake in this game, I was there for good old fashion lust.

I’d heard of Mr Ganache through the cyber grapevine, comments describing his exotic flair, his dark appearance and French background appealed. Mr Ganache was in my mind the dream of dreams. Yet I felt some apprehension over those long five minutes, was he over- hyped, could this man of pedigree deliver?

Being welcomed by his French assistant was a good start, being struck by the style inside his place came a close second. Mr Ganache took taste to a new level working it all the way through his boutique right into the heart of his art — chocolate.

by Cate

Immediately I encountered new flavours beyond my chocolate imaginings: Vietnamese mint, Thai lemongrass, curry, Japanese yuzu fruit, sea salts of the world, the list seemed endless. I knew I had to choose wisely and not appear uncivilised. Taking a conservative approach I opted for name over flavour: Evasion, Petit Martin, Oriental and Je t’aime (left to right) combinations of dark chocolate, mandarin, espresso, strawberry and ginger.

Master chocolatier Eric Girerd has crafted a niche from within a niche, fusing Asian flavours with French, tempering some of the finest cacao around, into pieces of art.

Handmade chocolate is only a part of this boutique’s business. Cupcakes, artisanal delights from Spain, oils, teas and chocolate from giants like Lindt and Valor are also for sale.

by Cate

Mr Ganache is a place to browse, sample and sit. A place to frequent as often as possible.

by Cate

Chocolate and whimsey…definitely my style.

by Cate

Mr Ganache has boutiques in New York, Paris and now… Miami.Wander through Mary Brickell and you’ll easily stumble upon this exotic chocolatier.

Caffeinated Traveller

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

14 Comments
  1. travelforaircraft permalink
    July 9, 2010 4:21 pm

    The French know chocolate and am happy you found a nice example in the USA!

    • July 13, 2010 12:58 pm

      Oh I think there are plenty of these goodies around the US. NZ hasn’t come up to speed on artisan chocolate yet…

  2. July 10, 2010 3:30 pm

    OOOh this sounds dreamy. I love exotic chocolates. We have quite a few international chocolatiers in Chicago and the effects can be deadly. My husband seriously overdosed on about three pounds he ate in one sitting last weekend. He was throwing up and queezy for hours. Fine chocolate was meant to be nibbled and not gobbled I tell him. I don’t think he’s listening but the lemongrass and giner are some of my favorites.

    • July 13, 2010 12:58 pm

      Did your husband need medical treatment?? I wonder how long it will take before he can put another chocolate in his mouth. Three pounds is some serious chocolate eating….

  3. July 10, 2010 11:12 pm

    oh , these chocolate are delicious.I am crazy for grabing them.In USA the are really hot..

  4. July 11, 2010 8:43 pm

    Those chocolates are beautiful. Anyone who doesn’t think food can’t be art has not eaten very well.

  5. July 12, 2010 6:02 pm

    Congrats! You’re nominated as a Top 9 Travel Blog!

    • July 13, 2010 12:53 pm

      Oh wow, that’s an honour and thanks!

  6. July 12, 2010 6:26 pm

    I would forgive anything… for chocolate!

    Looks absolutely yummilicious!

    Cheryl

    • July 13, 2010 1:00 pm

      Really? The easy way to a woman’s heart is with a box of cacao gems, whoever said it was diamonds was wrong!

  7. July 12, 2010 9:07 pm

    Delectable! And it tastes even better when it is so lovely to look at…

  8. July 15, 2010 12:50 am

    I think I’ve just fallen in lust/love (can’t tell the difference now!) with Mr Ganache. And just like the real thing, I think once I’d start, I can’t stop at one…

Trackbacks

  1. im pregnant can i drink…? | Tea

Comments are closed.