Skip to content

Flowing with the wind:Spanish Beard

October 1, 2010
tags:

I love visiting my friend who lives on the outskirts of Tampa. Why? It has a lot to do with her one year old son, but also I love looking at the Spanish Beard as it sways gently in the breeze, clump upon clump lie wrapped over branches like old cloth wrung out to dry. It always reminds me of something out of “Gone with the Wind”.

by Cate

Native to Louisiana, Spanish Moss goes with the wind — by its strands or by bird — all the way down to Florida. And there is stays draped over trees, creating the perfect nesting material for birds and an spooky atmosphere for Halloween.

by Cate

Prized for its resilience to insects, the fibres were widely used in mattresses during the 19th century. Innovation has seen a change in the demand for this green moss, but that doesn’t bother me. As a newbie to this area I love the look of this plant, the way it captures the light, the way it flows with the wind, not against it.

by Cate

I haven’t seen any moss around my area; only palms, palms and more palms.

Caffeinated Traveller

8 Comments
  1. Catherine permalink
    October 4, 2010 12:48 am

    gorgeous atmospheric photos – and it just so summons up the gothic South…

    • October 5, 2010 11:18 am

      Gothic now that is a perfect way to sum up the South, I wish it have crossed my blank mind at the time.

  2. October 4, 2010 4:24 pm

    Hi! I followed a link here from Bearshapedsphere because you mentioned NZ and I’m nosey that way. It’s interesting to me that you are living in the US because I was born there and after 10 years in the UK, I have now been in NZ for 10 (well, I’ve popped out to Asia for a few years). Anyway, I love your topics! Tea and coffee, travel explorers, Asia and interesting links have kept me looking round when I should be working. So, I’ll go now, but I’ll be back!

    Nice to find/”meet” you,
    Marie

    P.S. I love Spanish moss! I lived in south Fla. when I was a child and always thought it looked a bit like ghosts at night, but imagine how fancy our mudpies were decorated with that.

    • October 5, 2010 11:17 am

      Nice to meet you Marie, you have lived an interesting life going by your brief story. And thanks for taking time out from your work to browse my blog. I intend to reciprocate!!

  3. October 4, 2010 7:55 pm

    Lovely shots! Looks like the trees are weeping…

    • October 5, 2010 11:19 am

      Sad sad trees… Either weeping because they are old or weeping because they are too hairy and need a shave.

  4. October 7, 2010 1:53 pm

    Beautiful! And how interesting that the material was once used in mattresses…I guess I’d never given much thought to 19th century bedding before. 😉 What did I expect…memory foam?!

    • October 12, 2010 12:14 pm

      LOL- It must have made a rustling noise everytime you moved around in the bed, unless it was packed down.

Comments are closed.