Skip to content

A Call to Arms

November 8, 2010

Last Saturday morning 2500 people took up a call to arms. Passionate, proud and generally all round fun seekers these people walked — with their cameras — along Florida’s coastline from its eastern shores to its western shores and whatever parts in between. The aim was to take as many pictures of the coast and beaches as possible and upload these images before 11 am Saturday. It was a challenge particularly for me, because up to now my motto has been: Never rise before the sun unless there is a plane to catch or a mountain to snowboard down.

There I was along with my husband, bundled up in cold weather clothes (it was unseasonably cool that morning), walking along Juno Beach’s pristine shoreline, about 30 minutes north from my place.

The Walk-a-thon was a way of getting a message out to the wider audience, a message that will continually need repeating in the future — “Florida’s beaches are clean and safe.”

Thanks to the grim image portrayed by the news media the public have stayed away from Florida, Louisiana, Alabama, Mississippi and continue to do so.

Instead of waiting on the media to solve this tourist problem volunteer groups have taken up the call for action. Who better knows the state of the local beaches than the locals.

And to prove to those skeptics out there just how clean and oil-free these waters and beaches are around Florida, take a look at these shots.

by Cate

by Cate

by Cate

A little on the brisk side but the morning walk was worth it. In fact I may have to reconsider my early morning motto.

I recommend taking a look at some very good images taken that morning by some talented photographers: Florida’s Great Walk

How about you readers? Have you done something like this to get a message out to the public? Would love to hear your stories.

Caffeinated Traveller

8 Comments
  1. Catherine permalink
    November 8, 2010 11:19 pm

    I was actually there in Miami on South Beach and got the t shirt – but didn’t know about the photography bit – thanks for letting me know!! great shots

    • November 10, 2010 3:14 pm

      I didn’t get the t shirt since no one was around to register me or communications failed at the check in post. But hey at least someone did!

  2. November 9, 2010 12:30 pm

    Yes, it’s the visuals that get our attention. The shoreline looks as lovely as it did on my last visit down that way. Great concept. I hope that this helps to get the word out!

  3. November 10, 2010 4:23 pm

    The beaches look lovely! In high school I used to get up at five every morning to do my calculus homework and watch the sun rise…. there was something incredible about being up before everything and everyone else, watching the sun rise over the sleeping city. I highly recommend it, but now I’m generally too lazy to get up until around 6:30 or 7:00

  4. November 12, 2010 1:05 pm

    Having a walk like this is a great idea. How long did it take you? And the pictures are gorgeous. I walked for Project Bread once in Boston to get the message out about hunger. It was a 20-mile walk through the city. That was years ago, so I’m not sure what kind of impact we had. But it was fun.

  5. November 12, 2010 1:32 pm

    What a great idea. I love it when people band together and stop waiting for the media to right things. The beaches on Amelia Island, off the Florida coast, are pristine as well and I loved them.

    • November 28, 2010 10:48 pm

      Amelia Island is on my list… I may just make it there during the Christmas break.

  6. November 24, 2010 7:16 pm

    Ahh beaches 🙂 they look great! I think this “call to arms” will really do the trick

Comments are closed.