Skip to content

It’s been a while….

November 24, 2010

The wait is over. In fact it has been over since early September but only now have I been able to sit down and smell the roses. After fifteen months, twenty-five days and numerous minutes of energy zapping waiting, the light turned green and I became an official permanent resident of the States.

It was a quiet celebration more of a huge sigh of relief than a cork popping champagne sipping party. I knew there was still a part of the hill to climb and it was going to be slow going clambering over rocks and crags. Despite having legal permission to work, I still had to find a job.

I was mentally prepared to slug it out with the mass of intelligent professionals also seeking work around me. What I wasn’t prepared for nor expected was to find myself signing an employment contract within weeks of receiving my green card.

So here I am, employed, legal, able to leave the US and come back without visa hassles, able to earn after months of not doing so and able to recognise and appreciate my good fortune. On the downside (short-term) I have found I am trying to find a routine that lets me sit down for an hour or two, respond to the countless email requests and wonderful comments left on my blog site, as well as stay consistent with posts. It’s a work in progress that needs fine tuning but I’m getting there.

I do have a few things I’d like to say:

  • My heartfelt sympathy and thoughts go out to the New Zealand miners who died this week  and their families and friends; and the people of New Zealand working their way through this national tragedy while I write this.
  • Happy Thanksgiving to those who celebrate this special day.
  • Thank you Homeland Security for the smooth processing of my permanent residency application.
  • Thank you Joe for being understanding and loving during the times I drove you crazy.
  • And, thanks to all the wonderful insightful, humorous bloggers and readers I have met on this journey, you have been inspirational.

The plan is to continue this blog but move it from twice weekly to once a week until my holidays when I plan on annoying you all as often as I can. The travel plans are being dusted off but the problem is how to choose only one place instead of several.

Happy holidays and stay safe.

 

by Cate

Caffeinated Traveller

17 Comments
  1. November 25, 2010 6:06 am

    Happy Thanksgiving.

    I admire the attached picture which many words.

    • November 28, 2010 10:47 pm

      Thanks Rainfield, the picture does say a lot. given your fitness I’m sure you could easily climb these steps.

  2. November 25, 2010 9:13 am

    Congratulations Cate and happy thanksgiving! 🙂

  3. Catherine permalink
    November 25, 2010 8:58 pm

    congrats on achieving the US status – and I agree it is a terrble tragedy in NZ – why are there just so many mining disasters around the world right now?? Greetings from Mexico

    • November 28, 2010 10:47 pm

      I know, either the media has given more attention to these disasters or the mines are moving further into unknown areas. Thanks for the greetings from Mexico 🙂

  4. November 26, 2010 8:59 pm

    Congratulations, Cate!

  5. November 28, 2010 4:55 am

    That was quite a climb if the picture was meant to be an analogy. Waiting is, invariably is. More so when one lets one’s paper boat into the water, hoping the current will carry it safe.

    Great to learn of the permanent residency. I suppose, while it’s a change in status, it must make one see the place differently the moment one becomes its citizen.

    NZ’s mining disaster was a terrible event, more so given the turnaround in Chile’s story and the hopes it had inspired.

    • November 28, 2010 10:45 pm

      It did feel like a steep unending climb and at times I thought I was going to have to turn back. But I got there, a little breathless.

  6. November 29, 2010 6:04 am

    Congratulations, Cate 🙂 So pleased for you!

    • December 10, 2010 6:01 pm

      And thank you Corinne!

  7. December 3, 2010 9:28 am

    Heartfelt congratulations to you, Cate! What a journey you’ve had! Proud to have you as a fellow citizen.

    • December 10, 2010 6:01 pm

      Heather your comment is wonderful and warm, thanks so much for your support, sorry I’m late in responding.

  8. December 5, 2010 11:31 am

    Hi Cate, Congrats to your job and green card! And happy holidays to you too!

  9. December 12, 2010 3:18 am

    Congratulations!!! must be such a relief and i guess there must also be a sense of freedom/in dependence now this is sorted…

    i do hope you continue to find time to travel and write..all the best

Comments are closed.